Special Collections Research Center
What is the Special Collections Research Center?
UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collects, preserves, and provides access to materials documenting the social, cultural, economic, and political history of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. SCRC is home to UK Libraries' collection of manuscripts, University of Kentucky archives, rare books, Kentuckiana, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, the King Library Press, the Bert T. Combs Appalachian Collection, the John G. Heyburn II Initiative for Excellence in the Federal Judiciary, and the Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center.
Research materials in SCRC generally fall into the following categories:
- Archives
- Rare Books and Print Collections
- Images
- Oral Histories
This guide is meant as an introduction to finding and accessing items from each of these categories in SCRC. If you need further assistance along the way, Contact Us anytime!
Kentuckians for the Commonwealth
- Kentuckians for the Commonwealth recordsThe Kentuckians for the Commonwealth records (dated 1969-2015, undated; 49.98 cubic feet; 48 record storage cartons, 5 document storage boxes, 5 flat boxes, 5 items, 1 oversized folder) comprises operating records, newsletters, publications, videotapes, audio cassettes, scrapbooks, subject files, and posters that document the activities and operation of the grassroots community organization Kentuckians for the Commonwealth (KFTC). The scrapbooks document the actions of KFTC from the late 1970s to 1997, lists of foundations that received grant applications from KFTC for project and organization funding, and audiovisual materials that document many organization meetings, events supported by KFTC, and news clips. There are also documents detailing the work of KFTC with the Campaign for Human Development and the Kentucky Economic Justice Alliance and the reciprocal relationship of the organizations in supporting proposed projects and assisting the residents of Kentucky in the late 1980s to the late 2000s.