Linguistics

This guide provides advice, resources, and contact information for people who can help you with all of your research data management needs.

"The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects."

Formerly the Phonological Atlas of North America, the Atlas of North American English "is an overview of the pronunciation patterns in all the major regional dialects of the English language spoken in urban areas of the United States and Canada."

"The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a multi-volume reference work that documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States."

Archive of English-Language Dialects and Accents from around the World.

The Linguistic Atlas Project (LAP) consists of a set of survey research projects about the words and pronunciation of everyday American English, the largest project of its kind in the country. The LAP is housed at the University of Kentucky.

"The Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC) supports language-related education, research and technology development by creating and sharing linguistic resources, such as data, tools and standards."

"A repository of cross-linguistic phonological inventory data, which have been extracted from source documents and tertiary databases and compiled into a single searchable convenience sample. "

"The materials on this site comprise audio recordings illustrating phonetic structures from over 200 languages with phonetic transcriptions, plus scans of original field notes where relevant."

"The UK Phonetics Laboratory is a resource for anyone at the University of Kentucky conducting experimental linguistics research."

"A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors (many of them the leading authorities on the subject)."

"Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as samples being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files."

"An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages."

'The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The MLA Language Map uses data from the US Census 2000 to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States."

"An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources...a language resource is any kind of DATA, TOOL or ADVICE pertaining to the documentation, description or development of a human language. Texts, recordings, dictionaries, language learning materials, annotations, field notebooks, software, protocols, data models, file formats, newsgroup archives and web indexes are some examples of such resources."

Most people in the United States speak English and most governmental functions are in English. The bureau collects data on language use to know what languages to use, and where, to get information to people about public health, voting, and safety.

"It provides vocabularies (mini-dictionaries of about 1000-2000 entries) of 41 languages from around the world, with comprehensive information about the loanword status of each word. It allows users to find loanwords, source words and donor languages in each of the 41 languages, but also makes it easy to compare loanwords across languages."