Religious Studies

An electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.

Acts to preserve quantitative data on religions, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Full-text of 20 different versions, including 12 full Bibles, five New Testament texts, two versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.

Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each single-themed, 13,000-word CQ Researcher report offers coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Includes a section on religion.

Provides an overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

Ready-reference book collection. Search or browse the Religion subject section. Search within a book or search the whole database of Oxford Reference.

E-books from Oxford Press. Includes over 1500 entries for religion. For every chapter: search tags, abstracts, and selected full-text. Bibliographies and notes are linked to our holdings.

Full text of primary texts in philosophy, religion, literature. Includes religious works by theologians such as Martin Luther, Thomas Aquinas, St. Augustine, St. Anselm, John Calvin, William of Ockham, and more.

Electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, presenting the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Combined searching for encyclopedias in Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). Cross-search these major encyclopedias: Contemporary American Religion (2v, 1999); Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd Ed. (22v, 2007); Encyclopedia of American Religions (7th Ed., 2003); Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2v, 2004); Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Ed. (10v, 2006); Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed. (15v, 2005); New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Ed. (15v, 2003); New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume (2nd Ed., 2000).

Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume II, Islam focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices.

Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Digital facsimile page images of books, pamphlets, newspapers, and manuscripts of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

Most every 18th century book printed in England. Full-text, fully searchable. Includes over 50,000 works in philosophy and religion.

Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. Contains 121 religious journals, as well as over 1000 journals in other useful subjects such as history, anthropology, peace studies, and American studies.

Searchable full-text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, prose together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources. Search or browse Authors, Texts, Criticism, and Reference Materials.

Contains over 20,000 entries in religious studies.