Ebooks
A Dictionary of Asian Mythology by Publication Date: 2001The stories of the revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, and recurring themes and traditions that make up the rich and varied fabric of Asian mythology. Entries address the key mythologies of India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan.
Encyclopedia of Judaism by Publication Date: 2005Encapsulating all things Jewish - language, laws, literature, arts, theology, ritual, land, culture, and personalities - this authoritative volume offers readers access to Judaism from both a historical and contemporary perspective.
Encyclopedia of Sacred Places by Publication Date: 1997From Angkor Wat to Stonehenge, from Jerusalem to Westminster Abbey, this encyclopedia describes sacred places throughout the world and discusses their meaning and importance to believers as well as their historical and contemporary significance. Also available in paper at Young Library Reference collection, west wing, call # BL580 .B76 1997 .
Hinduism by Publication Date: 1998Kim Knott provides clear insight into the beliefs and authority of Hindus and Hinduism, and considers the ways in which it has been affected by colonialism and modernity. Knott offers succinct explanations of Hinduism's central preoccupations, including the role of contemporary gurus and teachers in the quest for spiritual fulfillment; and the function of regular performances of the Mahabharata and Ramayana--scriptures which present the divine in personal form (avatara) and provide models of behavior for everyone, from kings and warriors to servants and children, and which focus on the dharma, the appropriate duties and moral responsibilities of the different varna or classes.
Spirituality by ISBN: 1118472330Publication Date: 2013-01-22Engagingly written by one of the world's leading scholars in this field, this comprehensively revised edition tells the story of Christian spirituality from its origins in the New Testament right up to the present day. Charts the main figures, ideas, images and historical periods, showing how and why spirituality has changed and developed over the centuries Includes new chapters on the nature and meaning of spirituality, and on spirituality in the 21st century; and an account of the development and main features of devotional spirituality Provides new coverage of Christian spirituality's relationship to other faiths throughout history, and their influence and impact on Christian beliefs and practices Features expanded sections on mysticism, its relationship to spirituality, the key mystical figures, and the development of ideas of 'the mystical' Explores the interplay between culture, geography, and spirituality, taking a global perspective by tracing spiritual developments across continents
Print Encyclopedias
All Things in the Bible by Publication Date: 2006Monumental in scope and written especially for high school students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the material culture, customs, and beliefs of the biblical world. Included are more than 200 alphabetically arranged entries on the tools, animals, foods, habits, laws, professions, and peoples of the Bible.
The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions by Publication Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions is the most wide-ranging and accessible resource on the historically significant and more obscure, sinister, and bizarre religious groups. Including many entries by scholarly specialists, this volume explains more than 1,000 diverse groups and movements, from such well-known sects as the Branch Davidians, Aum Shinrikyo, and Heaven's Gate, to obscure groups like Ordo Templi Satanas, Witches International, and the Nudist Christian Church of the Blessed Virgin Jesus.
Encyclopedia of Monasticism by Publication Date: 2000First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by Publication Date: 2005The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature, originally published in 2005, is a landmark work in the burgeoning field of religion and nature. It covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from thinkers to religious traditions and beyond.
New Religions by Publication Date: 2004New Religions offers an authoritative and lavishly illustrated guide to more than two hundred wildly varied groups and movements. The volume is organized according to an entirely new method of classification, which associates movements, sects, and spiritualities with the religious traditions from which they arose.
The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements by Publication Date: 2003Contributors are drawn equally from sociology and religious studies and include both established scholars and "rising stars" in the field. The core chapters deal with such central issues as conversion, the brainwashing debate, millennialism, and modernization. Another section deals with NRM subfields such as neopaganism, satanism, and UFO religions. The final section considers NRMs in globalperspective.
The Qur'an by Publication Date: 2005The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible. Entries are cross-referenced and many include a brief bibliography. At the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic Studies. There is a full index.
Religion and Politics in America by Publication Date: 2016This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the interrelation of religion and politics from colonial days to the present.
Religions of the Ancient World by Publication Date: 2004A full understanding of this complex spiritual world unfolds in Religions of the Ancient World, the first basic reference work that collects and organizes available information to offer an expansive, comparative perspective. At once sweeping in scope and groundbreaking in format, the Guide eschews the usual encyclopedic approach, instead presenting, side by side, materials from ten cultures and traditions.
Science, Religion, and Society by Publication Date: 2010"Science, Religion, and Society" covers all aspects of the religion and science dichotomy, from humanities to social sciences to natural sciences, and includes articles by theologians, religion scholars, physicians, scientists, historians, and psychologists, among others.
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
WorldCat.Org
Need to search beyond the University of Kentucky Libraries? Search WorldCat.org to access catalog listings of holdings from libraries in the United States and around the world. UK-affiliates can make Interlibrary Loan requests through this database when on-campus or connected via VPN.
Questions? Just ask us.
Library of Congress Call Numbers
In LC Classification, religion begins at BL and continues through BX. Most religions have their own classification numbers.
Judaism - BM
Islam - BP
Buddhism - BQ
Christianity - BR
Bible - BS
Christian Denominations - BX
You can find books by browsing in these sections, all on the third floor of Young Library.