Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database that includes articles, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings from a variety of fields.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection includes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
Need something more specific? Check the Subject Guides page to find databases by field of study.
What is a Library Database?
How to Read a Scholarly Article
This two minute video demonstrates how to skim the key parts of a scholarly article to determine if it is relevant for your assignment.
Used with permission of Western University under Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 US)
Get the Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.