Writing About Theatre
-
How to Write about Theatre
by
Call Number: Fine Arts Library Book Stacks - PN 1707 .F57 2015Whether you're blogging, tweeting or writing an academic essay, your challenges as a critic remain the same: how to capture a performance in words, how to express your opinions, and how to keep the reader entertained. Mark Fisher's book shows you his way to do it. -
Writing about Theatre and Drama
by
Call Number: Fine Arts Library Book Stacks - PN 1707 .H83 2006Covers everything from matters of style to forms of essays used in writing about theater. Beginning with a discussion of the theatrical review, the text covers the forms of essays used in writing about theatre, research, matters of style, structure, and vocabulary.
MLA Style
The MLA Handbook, 9th edition contains the most current version of the MLA Style guidelines.
-
MLA Handbook
by
ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22The most current paper edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers can be found by searching for the titles in InfoKat Discovery.
There are many resources on the web that can also assist with MLA Style.
-
MLA Formatting and Style GuideOWL, Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, has created an online overview to help writers cite sources using MLA style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations.
(Please note: There is a citation generator on this site that is not free or recommended. See the list of recommended citation generators on our guide to Style Guides and Manuals.)
-
MLA Works Cited - List Entries: Citations by FormatSample citations for various resource types. Brief webpage on MLA Quick Guide. From MLA Style Center.
-
MLA Works Cited: A Quick GuideQuick guide to works cited, with examples, an interactive practice template, and more. From MLA Style Center.
Citation Management
There are many citation management tools that can compile and organize your citations as you research. You can used your saved citations to generate references, notes, and bibliographies.
Two popular citation management tools are EndNote (free access for the UK community) and Zotero.
-
EndNote Support PageSite contains useful information that includes FAQs, plus downloads for program upgrades and patches; new Styles, Filters, and Connection files; and a link to EndNote Technical Support.
-
UK Software Downloadswith a student, staff or faculty login, download software to your computer.
-
ZoteroIncludes the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references, and the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways.
A Note About Plagiarism
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary defines the verb "plagiarize" as "to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own; to use (another's production) without crediting the source." Plagiarism (acts of plagiarizing) is avoidable through proper citation practices. Resources such as The MLA Handbook can assist you with citations.
UK has official policies regarding plagiarism that you can consult online:
-
The Office of Academic Ombud Services Guide to Academic Integrity: Cheating and PlagiarismSenate Rule 6.3.1 states that "All academic work, written or otherwise, submitted by students to their instructors or other academic supervisors, is expected to be the result of their own thought, research or self-expression." There are severe penalties for presenting others' work as your own, including for failing to properly cite sources you use in research papers.
-
University of Kentucky's Plagiarism PolicyUK's Official Policy on what constitutes plagiarism.
Librarian
160 Patterson Dr
Lexington, KY 40506