HIS 351: Water Justice - Lexington, KY, 1830s Cholera Epidemic: Newspapers

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.

Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-present and information about other American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Our Newspapers.com portal provides online access to all the newspaper content digitized by University of Kentucky Libraries. It also includes public domain content from Newspapers.com.

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Helps identify what titles exist for a specific place and time and how they can be accessed. Search by particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles.

Nineteenth century newspaper collection that includes The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass’ Paper/Douglass' Monthly, Freedmen's Journal (Freedmen's Record), Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, and Provincial Freeman.

Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.

Digital archives (with PDFs) dating back to 1888 (for the Lexington Leader) and 1896 (for the Morning Herald) to present day as the Lexington Herald-Leader. Text archives back to 1983.

Kentucky's National Digital Newspaper Program (KY-NDNP) website offers comprehensive lists of the University of Kentucky's digitized historic newspapers available in both the Kentucky Digital Library and the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. The website also provides an extensive "how-to" on historic newspaper digitization per the NDNP specifications.

This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search the InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog or consult the librarians at the Reference Desk.