This is the "Little Library Art Collection" page of the "Art in the Lucille Little Fine Arts Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art in the Lucille Little Fine Arts Library  

information about art in the permanent exhibit at the Little Library
Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/LittleLibraryart Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Little Library Art Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Little Library Art Collection

The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library has a unique collection of artwork.  Made possible by generous donors, the collection includes contemporary work by artists who are local or have connections to Kentucky.  Artists represented are:

Dobree Adams, Jane Burch Cochran, Darryl Davis, Marjorie Guyon, Harlan Hubbard, Ron Isaacs, Eric Johnson, K.R. Johnson, Bow Hutcheson Kulp, Marianna McDonald, Fay Moore, M.S. Rezny, John Tuska, Russell Weedman, LaVon Van Williams, and Albert Wong.

Raisin' Rent, by LaVon Van Williams, photograph by James Burgett

There is also a collection of Japanese woodblock prints and woodblock reproductions.  Hasui, Hiroshige and Hokusai are among the artists featured.

  
The Yomei Gate at Nikko in the Snow,
by Kasamatsu Shiro, photograph by James Burgett

 UK faculty from the past are represented in the collection

       

Print by Janis Sternbergs    

  

"Thun", ink drawing by Clifford Amyx

 

History of the Collection

The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library and Learning Center was dedicated on February 16, 2001.  A portrait was commissioned from Adalin Wichman, a close friend of Mrs. Little, to honor her generosity, and it hangs in the lobby at the entrance to the building.  The library was designed to be a special place for students in the College of Fine Arts to pursue their academic goals, as well as to give all students at UK a pleasant and harmonious place to spend time.  With this in mind, donors David and Kathy Johnson proposed to establish a collection of artwork for the Little Library that features work by artists in and around Kentucky.  The Johnsons donated works from their personal collection and established a fund to purchase a sizable collection. Paintings, prints, photographs and textile art have been added to our walls over the years.  They have also donated a group of prints that were commissioned by the Lexington Arts and Cultural Council and the Lexington Council for the Arts, between 1984 and 2003.

 

About this Guide

This guide describes the Lucille Little Fine Arts Library Art Collection.  Each tab contains some brief biographical information about the artist and photos of the work in our collection.  It was prepared by Ashlee Chilton, as a part of an art history internship in the University of Kentucky College of Fine Arts.

Harlan Hubbard Image Collection

The Harlan Hubbard Image Collection consists of over 1,000 digital images of paintings by Harlan Hubbard.  For access to this database, contact Meg Shaw. 

      

Atchafalaya River, 1952

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip