Skip to main content
Alternative Textbooks (Open Educational Resources) Guide
Find Alt Textbooks
Search this Guide
Alternative Textbooks (Open Educational Resources) Guide: Find Alt Textbooks
This guide is about UK Libraries' Alternative Textbook Program. It also provides an overview of free online peer-reviewed textbooks and offers assistance with finding and adapting them for courses.
Find Alt Textbooks
Find HSS Alt Textbooks
Find STEM Alt Textbooks
Find Other Edu Materials
Adopt Alt Textbooks
Alternative Textbook Grant (2018)
Alternative Textbook Grant (2017)
Alternative Textbook Grant (2016)
Select Publishers of Alternative Textbooks (Open Educational Resources)
This non-profit organization based at Rice University publishes free peer-reviewed textbooks written by professional content developers. It has created
for instructors to share teaching resources.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Established by State University of New York libraries, this initiative publishes a growing list of peer-reviewed open access textbooks.
University System of Georgia Open Textbooks
With the facilitation of Affordable Learning Georgia, openly licensed textbooks on different subjects have been published by the University System of Georgia.
are also available.
Portland State University Open Access Textbooks
This is a collection of free, openly licensed textbooks published by the Portland State University Library.
Grand Valley State University Open Textbooks
These free textbooks are authored by faculty members at the Grand Valley State University.
Founded in British Columbia, this site offers a variety of openly licensed textbooks for undergraduate studies.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Saylor Academy hosts a collection of openly licensed textbooks and open online courses.
Lumen Learning's Catalog
This page lists Lumen Learning's free online courses and the accompanying textbooks.
Open Learning Initiative Courses
The Open Learning Initiative provides free learning materials about languages and STEM subjects.
Select Sources of Free Scholarly Monographs
Directory of Open Access Books
This resource indexes peer-reviewed academic books in different languages published by over 100 publishers.
University presses and publishers from different countries have made their scholarly monographs in Humanities and Social Sciences freely downloadable through the OAPEN Library.
MIT Press Open
The MIT Press provides free downloads of monographs on a wide range of subjects.
National Academies Press (NAP)
Established by the National Academy of Sciences, NAP publishes on a wide array of topics in science, engineering, and medicine.
University Press of Kentucky (UPK) Books
More than 1,000 titles published by UPK are freely accessible to the faculty and students of the University of Kentucky via UKnowledge.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Hundreds of books published by the University of California Press are freely accessible through this portal.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Thousands of out-of-copyright books digitized by academic libraries are available via HathiTrust.
Project Gutenberg includes literary and other intellectual works in many languages.
unglue.it: Free Books
This page from unglue.it aggregates books that are distributed with an open license or are in the public domain.
Indexes and Repositories of Free Educational Materials
Open Textbook Library
Based at the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library offers an expanding catalog of openly licensed textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty members.
Supported by an international community of higher education institutions, MERLOT provides access to free online teaching and learning materials.
Operating out of Rice University, this repository carries both books and learning objects that are freely accessible online.
Open Oregon: Resources
This list shows what Oregon community college instructors have used to replace commercial textbooks.
This repository holds free and open learning materials for "job-driven workforce development." The materials were developed by community colleges across the US.
College Open Textbooks
This initiative aims to promote the adoption of open textbooks among community colleges and for the first two years (lower division) of universities.
2012 Book Archive
This is an archive of openly licensed entry-level college textbooks.
Maintained by Berkeley Electronic Press, this resource aggregates free textbooks and educational materials made available by higher education institutions.
This is an extensive index of openly licensed online resources for different education levels.
This site indexes a variety of cultural and educational materials, including textbooks, eBooks, audio books, and movies.
The Orange Grove
As Florida's repository of open educational resources, it holds openly licensed materials for higher education, vocational education, and continuing education.
The Public Library of Science (PLOS) has curated collections of peer-reviewed journal articles on a variety of topics for research and educational purposes.
This is a multidisciplinary index of open access journal articles that can be reused for research and educational purposes.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
Operated by Bielefeld University Library in Germany, BASE indexes academic resources that are freely accessible online.
Find HSS Alt Textbooks >>
Oct 19, 2017 6:10 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Publishing, Research, and Scholarly Communication
open educational resources