Materials in the Library
Census materials can be found in three different places in Young Library. It should be noted that in each location, census documents fall into the call number ranges of "C 3.x". In other words, any items that begin with "C 3." from C 3.1 to C 3.186 and beyond are all census materials.
1. Summaries, fact books, and other quick-reference guides to census materials can be found in the Ready Reference collection (on the second floor behind the Reference desk). This collection is organized by call number, and all government publications are located after LC items. Census materials are shelved in their proper SuDoc order within the government publication shelves.
2. The decennial censuses can be found in the Reference Room on the second floor (west wing) near Core 4. These are large sets containing only tables that have pre-selected certain combinations of data for users. As in the Ready Reference collection, all SuDoc materials are located after all LC material. However, in Reference, the censuses have been placed at the end of the SuDoc collection. In other words, the Reference room is ordered: LC a-z, SuDoc a-y, Censuses by decade.
3. Electronic copies of census materials on CD and floppy disc, as well as their manuals, are stored in the Reference office. Inquire at the Reference desk to use those materials.
Databases
- data.census.govThe U.S. Census Bureau’s new platform to access detailed tables and maps for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, American Community Survey, and more. Users can generate simple visualizations, extract reports, and explore census data by theme or topic. data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. data.census.gov replaces American FactFinder, which was retired on March 31.
- Census of AgricultureThe Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them.
- Census of Governments: Federal, State, and LocalThe Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships.
- Census OnlineVarious links to census-related information from all U.S. states. Information is divided by state and then by county. Includes links to federal censuses and indexes, state and territorial censuses, tax lists, voter lists, military pensioner lists, and other items of interest to historians and genealogists.
- Current Industrial Reports (terminated FY 2011)Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of important commodity areas. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
- Population and Housing Unit EstimatesPublishes total resident population estimates and demographic components of change (births, deaths, and migration) each year as well as estimates by demographic characteristics (age, sex, race, and Hispanic origin) for the nation, states, and counties. In addition, the Census also produces population estimates for resident plus armed forces overseas, civilian, and civilian noninstitutionalized at the national level; and civilian at the state level.
- Race DataOfficial statistics on Asians and Pacific Islanders, American Indians, and Black populations in the U.S.
- Social Explorer
This link opens in a new window
U.S. census demographics resource covering 1790-2010. Tools include interactive maps and data reports. Newest addition: religious demographics. - Statistical Abstract of the United States Series
This link opens in a new window
Use the Abstract as a historical statistical reference and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. 2012 is the last edition, but StatAbs is useful as a source of historical statistics and as a guide to sources of current statistics; see the resource for current statistics under each table in StatAbs.
