Primary Electronic Information Resources in Architecture
These databases will help you find journal articles and other materials. If the library does not own the article or item you need, please request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsComprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design from over 700 publications
- Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective provides high-quality indexing of over 600 art periodicals for articles published between 1929 and 1984.
- Art Index
Art Index is an art research database providing high-quality indexing for hundreds of national and international art periodicals, including 370 active indexed journals. In addition to indexed journals, Art Index includes information about more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 229,000 image reproductions.
(Please note our subscription allows 8 simultaneous users across any location. To help other researchers, please close the browser when you are finished using this database.) - Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA)Indexes and abstracts (in English or French) articles (from over 4,800 journals), art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art. Special subject indexing covers persons, places, institutions, buildings, works of art, and topical subjects, with most subject terms in both English and French.
Other Related Databases for Architecture
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)Indexes information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, published from the late 1960s to the present
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index in Web of Science indexes 87 major American and European art periodicals such as Apollo, ARTnews, Art Bulletin, museum journals, etc.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
