Modern & Classical Languages Librarian
Getting Started on your Research
- Writing CenterIndividual and group consultations for all UK students, faculty, and staff with the process of composing and communicating in writing, speaking, and multimedia projects across the curriculum.
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideOWL, Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, has created an online overview to help writers cite sources using MLA style, including the list of works cited and in-text citations.
- MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly PublishingCall Number: PN147 .G444 2008 Young Library - 4th floor
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Young Library Reference/Fine Arts Reference: LB2369 .G53 2016
Finding images of Greek and Roman Gods
Below are some options for finding information on or images of art depicting Greek and Roman deities, festivals. etc.. This would include works from the Greco-Roman period along with works from later periods that were inspired by the classical world.
- Oxford Art Online
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online provides online full-text access to two major art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Our Oxford Art Online subscription offers access to the Grove Dictionary of Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia ("Grove Art"). It provides global coverage of visual culture from ancient to contemporary times, described in encyclopedia-style entries that are written and vetted by expert scholars.
(Please note our subscription allows 3 simultaneous users across any location. To help other researchers, please close the browser when you are finished using this database.)
- British Museum: Collection OnlineOver 900,000 images representative of the Museum's 3,500,000 objects.
Terms of Use
Recommended Resource
Greek and Roman Religions by
Offers an introduction to the basic beliefs, practices, and major deities of Greek and Roman religions A volume in the Blackwell Ancient Religions, Greek and Roman Religions offers an authoritative overview of the region's ancient religious practices. The author--a noted expert in the field--explores the presence of divinity in all aspects of ancient life and highlights the origins of myth, religious authority, institutions, beliefs, rituals, sacred texts, and ethics. Comprehensive in scope, the text focuses on myriad aspects that constitute Greco-Roman culture such as economic class, honor and shame, and slavery as well as the religious role of each member of the family. The integration of ethnic and community identity with divine elements are highlighted in descriptions of religious festivals. Greek and Roman Religions presents the evolution of ideas concerning death and the afterlife and the relation of death to concepts of ultimate justice. The author also offers insight into the elements of ancient religions that remain important in our contemporary quest for meaning. This vital text: Offers a comprehensive review of ancient Greek and Roman religions and their institutions, beliefs, rituals, and more Examines how the Roman culture and religions borrowed from the Greek traditions Explores the ancient civilizations of the Mediterranean Basin Contains suggestions at the end of each chapter for further reading that include both traditional studies and more recent examinations of topical issues Written for students of ancient religions and religious studies, this important resource provides an overview of the ancient culture and history of the general region as well as the basic background of Greek and Roman civilizations.
ISBN: 9781118542774Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Quick Articles on the Greek and Roman Religion
Below are some reference sources on Greek and Roman religion. They should provide a short explanation of who is who as well as possible resources for a deeper understanding.
- Oxford Reference / Classical Studies reference books
- This link opens in a new window
Ready-reference book collection. Search or browse the Classics subject. Search within a book or search the whole database of Oxford Reference. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Theoi Website Welcome to the Theoi Project, a site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art. The aim of the project is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
- Gods in Ancient Greece and Rome This is a free Oxford reference article on the religions of ancient Greece and Rome with references.
Resources - Databases
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. - L'Annee Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, L'Annee Philologique is a bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928. - Films on Demand
- This link opens in a new window
This contains documentaries that discuss Greek and Roman religion and mythology.
InfoKat Discovery - One way to find resources
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases. - InfoKat Discovery Advanced Search
- This link opens in a new window
Search the full InfoKat Discovery combining terms in different fields (e.g., title, subject, date, language). InfoKat Discovery searches many UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
