Calvin Coolidge
Statistical Sources
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States SeriesThe U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract.
-
Historical Statistics of the United StatesCompendium of statistics from over 1000 sources with over 37,000 data series. Online version of the revised 5 volume paper resource. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.
Background Information
-
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and PoliticsProvides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change.
-
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic HistoryDesigned to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
-
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United StatesFocuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
-
Encyclopedia of American Government and CivicsCovers basic topics in American government--from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--as well as contemporary issues, such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.
-
Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power, and GreedExplores the people, crimes, investigations, and court cases behind 200 years of American political scandals.
Concepts
-
Teapot Dome ScandalFrom: Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power, and Greed(Vol. 2. 2nd ed.)
-
Volstead Act (Eighteenth Amendment)From: Drugs in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law(Vol. 3. )
-
Ford Motor CompanyFrom: Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History(Vol. 1. )
Government Sources
-
HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 192 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching.
Business
-
Columbia Historical Corporate Reports Online CollectionAn online repository of historical corporate reports primarily from the New York State region. Includes scans of original documents as well as images.
-
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural ExchangeProvides access to primary sources that focus on 15 significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine, and spirits.
-
Market Research and American Business Reports, 1935-1965This collection provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection contains thousands of reports commissioned by companies such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, Exxon and CBS on consumer goods ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels.