History - ENG 330: Text And Context - The Great Gatsby - Research Guides at University of Kentucky

Background Information

Dictionary of American History
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, this encyclopedia details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and much more.
The A to Z of World War I
The A to Z of World War I provides a dual approach to the study of this historically significant event.
Americans at War
Vol. 3: 1901-1945
Social History of the United States
Vol. 3: The 1920s.

First World War
From personal collections and rare printed material, to military files, ephemera and artwork, The First World War highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war, and includes modules on personal experiences, propaganda and recruitment, and visual perspectives and narratives
American History, 1493-1945
Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Primary Source Collection.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism
This collection charts the development of leisure travel, from the emergence of travel agencies in the 19th century, to the impact of wilderness tourism on American national identity, and the golden age of package holidays in the 1970s. Material is sourced from a number of international archives, including the archives of Thomas Cook.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Based on a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, this resource offers captivating insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to today.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
This collection contains nineteenth and twentieth century American women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.

Jazz Age
From: Dictionary of American History(Vol. 4. 3rd ed.)
Speakeasy
From: Dictionary of American History(Vol. 7. 3rd ed.)
World War I (1914–1918)
From: Encyclopedia of United States National Security(Vol. 2. )
World War I
From: Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics
World War I
From: Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Prohibition
From: Encyclopedia of the Great Depression(Vol. 2. )
Prohibition
From: Encyclopedia of American Urban History(Vol. 2. )
1920s
From: American Food by the Decades
Who Owned the Airwaves? Radio Broadcasting in the 1920s
From: Social History of the United States(Vol. 3: The 1920s. )
Black Sox Scandal
From: St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture(Vol. 1. )
Al Capone
From: Encyclopedia of World Biography(Vol. 3. 2nd ed.)
Bootlegging
From: Dictionary of American History(Vol. 1. 3rd ed.)
The Ziegfeld Follies
From: St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture(Vol. 5. )