Newspaper Collections
-
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.
-
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Now featuring 345 newspapers published in 36 states; full-text searchable.
Online Newspapers
-
New York Times Historical EditionSearchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
-
London Times Digital Archive 1785-1985Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.
Newspapers on Microfilm
The University of Kentucky Libraries has numerous newspapers from the 1920s on microfilm. The film and the microfilm readers are located on the 2nd Floor of WT Young Library between cores 2 and 3. One of our librarian will show you how to use the microfilm machines if you don't already know how. One potential issue with using these papers is that most of them do not have indexes -- which means you would need to know specific dates for stories you were looking for -- or else you would just have to browse. Here are a few examples of papers we have from the 1920s: