Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Information Communication Technology

ICT encompasses all rapidly emerging, evolving and converging computer, software, networking, telecommunications, Internet, programming, and information systems technologies.

Main Databases for ICT

Listed below are several databases to help you get started with your research, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. Keep in mind that you can also look through all database subscriptions at UK to find others that may be helpful.

Academic Search Complete Search Results

This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Complete search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.

 

Academic Search Complete Search Results

 

Find Other Databases

UK subscribes to over 500 databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Complete, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest. Research Guides provide the key databases in every discipline plus relevant reference books and other library resources related to the subject.

Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s). From the library's main website, you can also choose the Databases tab on the search box and find a drop down box of the most frequently used databases at UK.

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad consults the UK Libraries holdings data to know if and where an article is available. If you use Google Chrome, you can install LibKey Nomad to the browser and access library collections (articles, journals, etc.) within one click. It even works when off campus!

LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:

  • doesn’t require a personal account;
  • doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
  • is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).

Install the Extension

  1. Download the extension from the Chrome Web Store.
    • Screenshot of LibKey on Chrome Web Store
  2. Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution. 
    • Screenshot of LibKey Nomad Dashboard‚Äč
  3. That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites. 
    • Screenshot of LibKey Nomad Selection Saved

 

Browse Journals

Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more!

How to Get Full Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.

If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.

Have questions? Ask Us for help.

Google Scholar

 

Google Scholar logo

 

It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.