Director, Education Library
Research Outline
-
KHP Research OutlineUse this Google Doc to help you with your research. Simply click on the link, then save a copy to your drive, and use it to help organize your research.
Databases - Find Articles
EBSCO: Choose and search across more than one of these databases at a time -
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Recently upgraded from Academic Search Complete. Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
-
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete Provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available, plus the full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL
-
Education Source Ultimate Education Source Ultimate is designed for education students, researchers, professionals and policymakers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes a range of topics including education ethics, educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more.
-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost] Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
-
PsycINFO The best database to begin your search for research in psychology, behavioral science, psychiatry, and mental health topics. Journals (2,400), book chapters, dissertations, and videos. 1600s-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text International journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc., and contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index.
Search these databases individually -
-
ProQuest Databases Access to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
-
PubMed (University of Kentucky) Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
and don't forget about Google Scholar -
InfoKat Discovery - Find Books (Library Catalog)
Introduction to Scholarly Articles
Introduction to Scholarly Articles helps you learn about what defines a scholarly article, whether or not "scholarly" means "peer reviewed", etc.
Length: Approximately 6-8 minutes
