Music Therapy

"Containing over 3,000 pieces of historical and contemporary music therapy literature and materials from every section the country, the CSU/American Music Therapy Association collection is the largest accumulation of such artifacts housed in a North American university."

Contains "unpublished papers, audiotapes, LPs, videos, and various other materials related to Dr. Helen Bonny's work on Guided Imagery and Music." Special collection at Temple University Libraries.

"This collection consists of personal/clinical diaries of Mary Priestley, founder of the method, plus audiotapes of her clinical work with approximately 75 individuals. The diaries and tapes cover the period 1971-1990. Also included are all of her known published writings, and pertinent writings by other proponents of the method." Special collection at Temple University Libraries.

The AMTA's purpose is the progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. It is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession. AMTA's website includes information on conferences, jobs (members only), music therapy programs and continuing education, professional requirements and competencies, scholarships, and standards.

Website and blog for AMTAS, the student chapter of the American Music Therapy Association.

"Since 1954, ASA has developed and led the largest, most diverse community of professionals working in aging in America. As a result, ASA has become the go-to source to cultivate leadership, advance knowledge and strengthen the skills of our members and others who work with and on behalf of older adults."

"The Australian Music Therapy Association (AMTA) is the government-recognised professional body and registration board for the music therapy profession in Australia."

"The Black Music Therapy Network, Inc. is comprised of cultural workers, music therapy students and practitioners, musicians, educators, researchers, and community agents at the critical intersection of music, wellness, healing, and transformation within Black communities. Our mission, to support the health and well-being of Black communities through music, is a commitment to Black Indigenous healing practices and dismantling relational and structural violence through the liberatory practice of music."

The "national voice for the [music therapy] profession" in Britain, offering events, professional support, training courses, and CPD.

"The mission of the Canadian Association of Music Therapists is to be the primary source of knowledge, information, professional development and advocacy to promote Certified Music Therapists (MTAs) and music therapy."

The EMTC "is a confederation of professional music therapy associations, working actively to promote the further development of professional practice in Europe, and to foster exchange and collaboration between member countries. The overall purpose of the EMTC is to nurture mutual respect, understanding and exchange between music therapists in Europe."

Founded in 2012, the LAMTN is "an online community that seeks to support Latin American music therapists and allies that seek to become more culturally responsive when working with Latin American clients."

MIAA "foster[s] the growth and development of the Bonny Method of Guided Imagery and Music and related practices involving Music and Imagery."

The NCCATA "is an alliance of membership associations dedicated to the advancement of the creative arts therapies professions. The Coalition includes Art therapy, Dance/Movement therapy, Drama therapy, Music therapy, and Poetry therapy."

The SMPC is an international organization dedication to the study of music cognition. Visit its website for news and events, videos, podcasts, interviews, and music cognition syllabi.

The mission of SER-AMTA is "to support [its] membership through service, advocacy, and educational opportunities." Its website contains conference information and information on degree programs in the region.

Founded in 1985, the WFMT is an international nonprofit organization bringing together music therapy associations and individuals interested in developing and promoting music therapy globally. It is the only worldwide professional organization representing music therapy in many areas of the world. Visit its website for job openings, scholarships, FAQ cards in 22 languages, and the "Music Therapy Today" journal.

The AMTA Code of Ethics define tenets of professional conduct for practicing music therapists. Because music therapists believe in the dignity and worth of every person and strive to establish and maintain high standards in public service, we require of ourselves the utmost in ethical behavior.

The AMTA Professional Competencies provide a definition of the current entry level skills of a music therapist who has completed either a bachelor's degree or its equivalent in music therapy. All AMTA approved bachelor's degree programs incorporate these competencies in their music therapy curriculum.

The AMTA Standards of Clinical Practice for music therapy are defined as rules for measuring the quality of services. These Standards are designed to assist practicing music therapists and their employers in providing quality clinical interventions. The AMTA Standards of Clinical Practice undergo periodic revision to remain current with advances in the field.

U.S. Department of Education