UK Libraries Research Guides
Conducting Music Therapy Research
-
A Guide to Designing Research Questions for Beginning Music Therapy Researchers
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M315 2018ISBN: 9781884914362Publication Date: 2018-09-01"A Guide to Designing Research Questions for Beginning Music Therapy Researchers" has been written for music therapy students approaching their first research project. It takes the reader on a journey through a series of hidden influences that shape their decisions about what research question to ask. Chapters examine personal experiences with music, health, and well-being; assumptions about why music, health, and well-being fit together in the first place; beliefs about what kinds of research are most powerful; and contextual influences, such as organizational culture, policies, and emerging social movements. -
Introduction to Music Therapy Research
by
Call Number: ML3920 .I58 2016ISBN: 9781945411120Publication Date: 2016-06-01An introductory overview of how research has been conceived and implemented in music therapy over the last several decades. The book was designed for those who are beginning their studies in music therapy research, and it is especially well-suited for use as an accompaniment to classroom instruction. Seventeen of the chapters were excerpted from "Music Therapy Research (3rd Edition)," a much larger volume of 68 chapters that gives considerable detail on numerous topics and sub-topics. In addition, three chapters (15, 16, 17) were specially written to provide a birds-eye view of some of the chapters that were not included, and in particular, those chapters in the larger book that examined the numerous methodological designs and approaches used in objectivist, interpretivist and other types of music therapy research. -
Music Therapy Research
by
Call Number: ML3920 .M8996 2016ISBN: 9781937440886Publication Date: 2016-06-01A greatly expanded, updated, and detailed description of objectivist and interpretivist research in music therapy, guided by the recommendations of a diverse group of experienced music therapists. The book begins with an introduction to the nature of music therapy research and its relation to theory and practice. Steps in doing research are then detailed, and the foundations and principles of objectivist and interpretivist paradigms are outlined. After methodological issues inherent in each paradigm are examined, individual chapters are provided for every type, method, and design of research that has been used in music therapy, all using the same outline. Finally, guidelines are given for reading, writing, and evaluating research.
-
10 Tips for Researching Music Therapy
Scroll down the page to the American Music Therapy Association's 10 tips for research. Includes information on citations managers, journals, and evidence-based practice tutorials.
APA Style
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. contains the most current version of the APA Style guidelines.
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019Print only. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication.
There are many resources on the web that can also assist with APA Style.
-
OWL @ Perdue - APA Style
A great guide to help you with APA style. Includes discussion and examples.
Citation Management
There are many citation management tools that can compile and organize your citations as you research. You can used your saved citations to generate references, notes, and bibliographies.
Two popular citation management tools are EndNote (free access for the UK community) and Zotero.
-
EndNote Support PageSite contains useful information that includes FAQs, plus downloads for program upgrades and patches; new Styles, Filters, and Connection files; and a link to EndNote Technical Support.
-
UK Software Downloadswith a student, staff or faculty login, download software to your computer.
-
ZoteroIncludes the ability to store author, title, and publication fields and to export that information as formatted references, and the ability to organize, tag, and search in advanced ways.
A Note About Plagiarism
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary defines the verb "plagiarize" as "to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own; to use (another's production) without crediting the source." Plagiarism (acts of plagiarizing) is avoidable through proper citation practices. Resources such as The MLA Handbook can assist you with citations.
UK has official policies regarding plagiarism that you can consult online:
-
The Office of Academic Ombud Services Guide to Academic Integrity: Cheating and PlagiarismSenate Rule 6.3.1 states that "All academic work, written or otherwise, submitted by students to their instructors or other academic supervisors, is expected to be the result of their own thought, research or self-expression." There are severe penalties for presenting others' work as your own, including for failing to properly cite sources you use in research papers.
-
University of Kentucky's Plagiarism PolicyUK's Official Policy on what constitutes plagiarism.
Librarian
Maria Souliotis
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library
160 Patterson Dr
Lexington, KY 40506
160 Patterson Dr
Lexington, KY 40506
(859) 257-4104