Frequently Used Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. - Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
- This link opens in a new window
Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals, offering cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected coverage of over 100 more. Includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest]
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC is also available from EBSCOhost Web and the U.S. Department of Education (the latter freely available to all). - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. You can also access publications to which the Libraries subscribe:
See instructions for setting up Google Scholar to access additional online fulltext available to UK users.
Citing Sources
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 1603293515Publication Date: 2021Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements.
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL Guide)
- Please note: There is a citation generator on this site that is not free or recommended. See the list of recommended citation generators on our guide to Style Guides and Manuals
- More Information about Style Guides
- Free online course from MLA: Understanding the MLA International Bibliography
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.