Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Studies

Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.

Over 700 journal backfiles. Full-text from the first volume to 2000. Completely full-text. Includes journals in foreign languages.

Web of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines. Web of Science is a citation index. Citation indexes link articles through the articles' bibliographies, citation notes, and internal references. This makes it easy to move forward and backwards chronologically in the research trail because you can both easily see the papers cited by an article and the articles that go on to cite the article later. Citation indexes also help in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field. Use the cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 years worth of content, including 59 million records that includes backfiles dating back to 1898.

Scopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with tools to track and analyze and research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of which contain references dating from 1996.
Scopus is a citation index. This makes it easy to move forward and backwards chronologically in the research trail because you can easily see the papers cited by an article as well as the articles that go on to cite the article later. Citation indexes also help in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field. Use the cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 years worth of content, including 59 million records that includes backfiles dating back to 1898.

Find open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.

Searchable full-text of over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, prose together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources. Search or browse Authors, Texts, Criticism, and Reference Materials.
Index to secondary sources includes entries from Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

The major index for publications on all languages and literatures, from the Middle Ages to the present. Indexes articles, books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Other topics indexed include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theatre), history of printing and publishing, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, and folklore.

Searchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Available from Johns Hopkins University Press.

Speech media resource that includes:
Online Speech Bank, an index to and growing database of 5000+ full-text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
Rhetorical Figures in Sound, a compendium of 200+ brief audio (mp3) clips illustrating 37 different figures of speech.
Top 100 Speeches, index to and partial database of full-text transcriptions of the "100 most significant American political speeches of the 20th century," according to a list compiled by Professors Stephen E. Lucas and Martin J. Medhurst.
and a number of other resources of value and interest to students and scholars of rhetoric.

Part of LearningExpress Library. Includes Build Your Math Skills; Become a Better Reader; Improve Your Writing, Speaking, and Grammar; and Become a U.S. Citizen.

As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Archival material dates back to 1970 in some cases.

Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC is also available from EBSCOhost Web and the U.S. Department of Education (the latter freely available to all).

Indexing and abstracting access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text.

Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.

Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals, offering cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected coverage of over 100 more. Includes full-text for nearly 200 journals.