It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Artstor Digital Library is an extensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use. The collections feature visual media from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists. Sign up for a personal account linked to the UK Libraries subscription to save, download, and use the images in your research projects.
Covers the visual arts from prehistory to the present day with full-text definitions, biographies and bibliographies. Now includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Image partners include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society. Part of Oxford Art Online. Database restricted to three simultaneous users; please logout (upper right-hand corner) when finished using the database.
ARTstor is the premier resource for finding images for educational use. The images can be used for presentations, lectures and student research papers but not publications. It contains over a million images. Use it without logging in to browse, or create a login to make your own "image groups" that save the images you need.
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Obligations & Restrictions on Use
Call Number: KF3050 .B54 2006 Young Library 4th floor
Art historians, artists, and anyone who wants to use the images of others will find themselves awash in byzantine legal terms, constantly evolving copyright law, varying interpretations by museums and estates, and despair over the complexity of the whole situation. Susan Bielstein offers her decades of experience as an editor working with illustrated books. In doing so, she unsnarls the threads of permissions that have ensnared scholars, critics, and artists for years. Organized as a series of “takes” that range from short sidebars to extended discussions, Permissions, A Survival Guide explores intellectual property law as it pertains to visual imagery. How can you determine whether an artwork is copyrighted? How do you procure a high-quality reproduction of an image? What does “fair use” really mean? Is it ever legitimate to use the work of an artist without permission? Bielstein discusses the many uncertainties that plague writers who work with images in this highly visual age, and she does so based on her years navigating precisely these issues.