It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Arts Administration: Databases
information for students in Arts Administration classes.
GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations. The University of Kentucky Libraries subscribes to GuideStar Library Services, whereby we can give our researchers on-site or remote access to GuideStar Pro.
What Patrons Can Do with GuideStar Library Services:
Search 2.5 million nonprofit organizations
Use powerful filters to refine extensive search results
Access all available IRS Forms 990
View financial data, including revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets
GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations. Anyone can search their records on millions of nonprofits freely online, and the University of Kentucky Libraries also subscribes to GuideStar Library Services, whereby we can give our researchers access to GuideStar Pro services.
Search for journals that can be found in the UK Libraries in InfoKat. Online journals are found in the E-Journals Database.
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
Title-by-title database of the journals available full-text in electronic form through University of Kentucky Libraries' subscriptions. The primary purpose of the E-Journals Database is to give you access to specific, known journal titles you are seeking. (Search for JOURNAL here, not ARTICLE.)
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering the U.K., Europe, the U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. A good place to search for consumers' art and music data.
Best bets - more databases for Arts Administration topics
Art administration information can be found in a variety of databases.
Search for articles on artists, musicians, actors, and reviews in the indexes below. For example, the Music Periodicals Database provides the full-text of articles in magazines and newspapers such as Rolling Stone.
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from hundreds of international music periodicals and journals. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Coverage includes music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music, classical music, opera, music theory, music business, and more.
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Issues of intellectual property, arts management, contracts, and commerce in the arts are also covered in business and law databases:
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
Current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions of the world. Offers information on sources of foreign law, including bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are covered.
Getting database articles themselves (if not via direct links in the database)
Once you have found a list of citations for articles on your topic in the databases, how do you get the articles themselves?
Sometimes the full text of the article is already attached to the database citation, as a PDF or HTML file. (Yay!) If so, just click to open, save, or print it!
More often, the databases provide the citation only, telling you where to find the articles. Check InfoKat to see if UK Libraries has the periodical in our collection and if we have the issue or date you need. (Search by the title of the journal or magazine, not the title of the specific article.)
If our library does have the title and issue/date you need, we might have it online, in hard copy/print, or both. Click through from the InfoKat record for online versions, or for print versions, go to the shelf at the library to find and scan a copy of the article for yourself.
If UK does not collect the magazine or journal you need, or we do not have access to the issue or date you need, you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). UK Libraries will request a scan from another library and then forward it on to you.
If you see a "View Now UK" button in a database, clicking it can often provide a shortcut to a journal's website, so it is worth trying, but it is often faster and always more accurate to check InfoKat to see if our library provides access to a periodical you need.
Online resources to explore during the COVID-19 pandemic
Online arts resources in the time of the COVID-19 pandemic
UK Libraries has recently purchased five packages through Drama Online thanks to requests from the CFA Department of Theatre & Dance and the Lucille Caudill Little endowment funds at the Little Fine Arts Library. We are thrilled to offer these to the UK community, particularly in the time of COVID-19.
Our five packages include the National Theatre Collection, two Royal Shakespeare Company packages, and two Shakespeare's Globe packages:
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection launched in September 2019 with 19 films, now contains 24, and will complete with 30 by the end of March 2020.
- Comedies: She Stoops to Conquer, One Man, Two Guvnors, and London Assurance
- 20th century classics: Yerma, The Cherry Orchard, The Deep Blue Sea and Les Blancs
- Shakespeare plays: Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, Macbeth, Julius Caesar, Coriolanus, Twelfth Night, The Winter's Tale and Romeo and Juliet
- Literary adaptations: Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Treasure Island and Peter Pan
- Greek classics: Antigone and Medea
- World historical drama: Dara (Shahid Nadeem’s telling of the dispute that shaped modern-day India and Pakistan in Nadia Fall’s production, originally performed at the Ajoka Theatre in Pakistan)
25 films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company from 2013 to 2019, including the 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale and the recent Twelfth Night starring Adrian Edmondson
30 films recorded live on the Globe stage with actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV, and productions including the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, in 2014
The films here are all rights-cleared for unlimited academic use and can be embedded in Canvas. As well as some feature-length documentaries, there are PBS-type clips and productions and lots of interviews with arts practitioners (directors, visual artists, etc.)
Here are Hyperallergic's 12 selections out of 2,500 world-class museums and galleries that are now offering virtual tours and online collections. - by Hakim Bishara, March 16, 2020
Open Educational Resources (OER) & open textbooks
Mason OER Metafinder
Real-time search engine (not a static database) of OER resources, created by George Mason University
Free resource for the study of art history created by art historians Beth Harris and Steven Zucker. Smarthistory is an independent not-for-profit organization and the official partner to Khan Academy for art history.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection.
Art + Design Online
Digital collections + websites of art, architecture + design images, books, films, photography + more