Locating Music Resources
Here is where you will find music resources at the Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts & Design Library:
- First Floor:
- Request Music CDs, DVDs, and course reserves at the Circulation Desk.
- The Reference section contains music encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other print resources. This collection is non-circulating.
- Home to the John Jacob Niles Center for American Music, which contains several subcollections (all non-circulating).
- Second Floor: Home to the main collection, with books, music scores, biographies, music criticism, and music education resources. There are also bound periodicals (non-circulating).
For questions on accessing or using these library resources, inquire at the Circulation Desk or contact Maria Souliotis, Music & Performing Arts Librarian.
Library of Congress Classification for Music
The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. In this system, works of knowledge are sorted into broad subject areas known as classes. Each class is assigned its own letter of the alphabet and is further subdivided into its own subclasses. The Library of Congress Classification system contains 21 classes.
Class "M" represents Music and contains the following subclasses:
- M: Printed Music & Scores
- ML: Literature on Music
- MT: Music Instruction and Study
Bookshelf
General Sources
-
Ethnomusicology Research
by
Call Number: ML128.E8 S4 1992ISBN: 9780824057350Publication Date: 1991-12-01 -
Folklife and Fieldwork: An Introduction to Cultural Documentation
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
-
The Music and Dance of the World's Religions
by
Call Number: ML128.S17 R87 1996ISBN: 0313295611Publication Date: 1996-08-23Despite the world-wide association of music and dance with religion, this is the first full-length study of the subject from a global perspective. The work consists of 3,816 references divided among 37 chapters. It covers tribal, regional, and global religions and such subjects as shamanism, liturgical dance, healing, and the relationship of music, mathematics, and mysticism. Chapter 1 consists of general references to religious music and dance. The remaining 36 chapters are organized according to major geographical areas. Most chapters begin with general reference works and bibliographies, then continue with topics specific to the region or religion. This book will be of use to anyone with an interest in music, dance, religion, or culture. -
World Music: The Basics
by
Call Number: ML3545 .N54 2005ISBN: 9780415968010Publication Date: 2005-03-27World Music: The Basics gives a concise introduction to popular musical styles found around the world. Organized alphabetically by region and then by country, it provides essential background information on the cultural and musical history of each area. Styles featured include: Celtic, Dijeridou, Bossa Nova, Reggae, and Bluegrass. Covering key artists and recordings and with guides to further listening, this is the perfect introduction for the student, scholar or general listener.
Music History & Criticism
(ML 159-3785)
-
Broken Voices: Postcolonial Entanglements and the Preservation of Korea's Central Folksong Traditions
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0824878337Publication Date: 2018-03-31"Broken Voices" is the first English-language book on Korea's rich folksong heritage, and the first major study of the effects of Japanese colonialism on the intangible heritage of its former colony. Folksongs and other music traditions continue to be prominent in South Korea, which today is better known for its technological prowess and the Korean Wave of popular entertainment. "Broken Voices" describes how the major repertoires were transmitted and performed in and around Seoul. It sheds light on the training and performance of professional entertainment groups and singers, including kisaeng, the entertainment girls often described as Korean geisha. Personal stories of noted singers describe how the colonial period, the media, the Korean War, and personal networks have affected work opportunities and the standardization of genres. As the object of resentment (and competition) and a source of creative inspiration, the image of Japan has long affected the way in which Koreans interpret their own culture. Ultimately, "Broken Voices" raises an important issue of cultural preservation--traditions that fail to attract practitioners and audiences are unsustainable, so compromises may be unwelcome, but imperative. -
Chinatown Opera Theater in North America
by
Call Number: ML1751.C5 R36 2017ISBN: 9780252082030Publication Date: 2017-01-11The Chinatown opera house provided Chinese immigrants with an essential source of entertainment during the pre-World War II era. But its stories of loyalty, obligation, passion, and duty also attracted diverse patrons into Chinese American communities Drawing on a wealth of new Chinese- and English-language research, Nancy Yunhwa Rao tells the story of iconic theater companies and the networks and migrations that made Chinese opera a part of North American cultures. Rao unmasks a backstage world of performers, performance, and repertoire and sets readers in the spellbound audiences beyond the footlights. But she also braids a captivating and complex history from elements outside the opera house walls: the impact of government immigration policy; how a theater influenced a Chinatown's sense of cultural self; the dissemination of Chinese opera music via recording and print materials; and the role of Chinese American business in sustaining theatrical institutions. The result is a work that strips the veneer of exoticism from Chinese opera, placing it firmly within the bounds of American music and a profoundly American experience. -
Claiming Diaspora: Music, Transnationalism, and Cultural Politics in Asian/Chinese America
by
Call Number: YOUNG ML3560.C5 Z54 2010ISBN: 9780195134377Publication Date: 2010-02-25"Claiming Diaspora" explores the thriving contemporary musical culture of Asian/Chinese America. Ranging from traditional operas to modern instrumental music, from ethnic media networks to popular music, from Asian American jazz to the work of recent avant-garde composers, author Su Zheng reveals the rich and diverse musical activities among Chinese Americans and tells of the struggles and creative searches by Chinese Americans to gain a foothold in the American cultural terrain. In doing so, she not only tells their stories, but also examines the transnational and racialized experiences of this musical culture, challenging us to take a fresh look at the increasingly plural and complex nature of American cultural identity. Zheng taps unpublished historical sources of immigrant narrative songs, extensive fieldwork in New York City and China, in-depth interviews in which musicians narrate their life stories and music experiences, and her own longstanding involvement as community member, musician, presenter, and cultural broker. The book delineates the introduction of each music genre from its homeland and its subsequent development in New York, and explains how Chinese Americans express their cultural longings and belongings. Ultimately, Zheng reveals how Chinese American musical activities both reflect and contribute to local, national, and transnational cultural politics. -
Drumming Asian America: Taiko, Performance, and Cultural Politics
by
Call Number: ML1038.T35 A55 2018ISBN: 9780199374021Publication Date: 2018-05-22With its dynamic choreographies and booming drumbeats, taiko has gained worldwide popularity since its emergence in 1950s Japan. Harnessed by Japanese Americans in the late 1960s, taiko's sonic largesse and buoyant energy challenged stereotypical images of Asians in America as either model minorities or sinister foreigners. Using ethnographic and historical approaches, combined with in-depth performance description and analysis, this book explores the connections between taiko and Asian American cultural politics. Based on original and archival interviews, as well as the author's extensive experience as a taiko player, this book highlights the Midwest as a site for Asian American cultural production and makes embodied experience central to inquiries about identity, including race, gender, and sexuality. The book builds on insights from the fields of dance studies, ethnomusicology, performance studies, queer and feminist theory, and Asian American studies to argue that taiko players from a variety of identity positions perform Asian America on stage, as well as in rehearsals, festivals, schools, and through interactions with audiences. While many taiko players play simply for the love of its dynamism and physicality, this book demonstrates that politics are built into even the most mundane aspects of rehearsing and performing. -
More Than Bollywood: Studies in Indian Popular Music
by
Call Number: ML3502.I4 M47 2014ISBN: 9780199928835Publication Date: 2013-12-04This is the first book to tackle the diverse styles and multiple histories of popular musics in India. It brings together fourteen of the world's leading scholars on Indian popular music to contribute chapters on a range of topics from the classic songs of Bollywood to contemporary remixes, summarized by a reflective afterword by popular music scholar Timothy Taylor. The chapters in this volume address the impact of media and technology on contemporary music, the variety of industrial developments and contexts for Indian popular music, and historical trends in popular music development both before and after the Indian Independence in 1947. The book identifies new ways of engaging popular music in India beyond the Bollywood musical canon, and offers several case studies of local and regional styles of music. The contributors address the subcontinent's historical relationships with colonialism, the transnational market economies, local governmental factors, international conventions, and a host of other circumstances to shed light on the development of popular music throughout India. -
Sounding the Indian Ocean: Musical Circulations in the Afro-Asiatic Seascape
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780520393196Publication Date: 2023-08-22"Sounding the Indian Ocean" is the first volume to integrate the fields of ethnomusicology and Indian Ocean studies. Drawing on historical and ethnographic approaches, the book explores what music reveals about mobility, diaspora, colonialism, religious networks, media, and performance. Collectively, the chapters examine different ways the Indian Ocean might be "heard" outside of a reliance on colonial archives and elite textual traditions, integrating methods from music and sound studies into the history and anthropology of the region. Challenging the area studies paradigm--which has long cast Africa, the Middle East, and Asia as separate musical cultures--the book shows how music both forms and crosses boundaries in the Indian Ocean world. -
Soundtracks of Asian America: Navigating Race through Musical Performance
by
Call Number: ML3560.A85 W36 2015ISBN: 9780822357698Publication Date: 2015-01-07In "Soundtracks of Asian America," Grace Wang explores how Asian Americans use music to construct narratives of self, race, class, and belonging in national and transnational spaces. She highlights how they navigate racialization in different genres by considering the experiences of Asians and Asian Americans in Western classical music, U.S. popular music, and Mandopop (Mandarin-language popular music). Her study encompasses the perceptions and motivations of middle-class Chinese and Korean immigrant parents intensely involved in their children's classical music training, and of Asian and Asian American classical musicians whose prominence in their chosen profession is celebrated by some and undermined by others. Wang interviews young Asian American singer-songwriters who use YouTube to contest the limitations of a racialized U.S. media landscape, and she investigates the transnational modes of belonging forged by Asian American pop stars pursuing recording contracts and fame in East Asia. Foregrounding musical spaces where Asian Americans are particularly visible, Wang examines how race matters and operates in the practices and institutions of music making. -
Speak It Louder: Asian Americans Making Music
by
Call Number: Online & ML3560.A85 W66 2004 & CD11838ISBN: 0415970393Publication Date: 2004-06-28"Speak It Louder: Asian Americans Making Music" documents the variety of musics-from traditional Asian through jazz, classical, and pop-that have been created by Asian Americans. This book is not about "Asian American music" but rather about Asian Americans making music. This key distinction allows the author to track a wide range of musical genres. Wong covers an astonishing variety of music, ethnically as well as stylistically: Laotian song, Cambodian music drama, karaoke, Vietnamese pop, Japanese American taiko, Asian American hip hop, and panethnic Asian American improvisational music (encompassing jazz and avant-garde classical styles). In Wong's hands these diverse styles coalesce brilliantly around a coherent and consistent set of questions about what it means for Asian Americans to make music in environments of inter-ethnic contact, about the role of performativity in shaping social identities, and about the ways in which commercially and technologically mediated cultural production and reception transform individual perceptions of time, space, and society. "Speak It Louder: Asian Americans Making Music" encompasses ethnomusicology, oral history, Asian American studies, and cultural performance studies. It promises to set a new standard for writing in these fields, and will raise new questions for scholars to tackle for many years to come. -
Vamping the Stage: Female Voices of Asian Modernities
by
Call Number: ML3500 .V36 2017ISBN: 9780824869861Publication Date: 2017-07-31The emergence of modernity has typically focused on Western male actors and privileged politics and economy over culture. The contributors to this volume successfully unsettle such perspectives by emphasizing the social history, artistic practices, and symbolic meanings of female performers in popular music of Asia. "Vamping the Stage" is the first book-length study of women, modernity, and popular music in Asia, showcasing cutting-edge research conducted by scholars whose methods and perspectives draw from such diverse fields as anthropology, Asian studies, cultural studies, ethnomusicology, and film studies. Led by an impressive introduction written by Weintraub and Barendregt, fourteen contributors analyze the many ways that women performers supported, challenged, and transgressed representations of existing gendered norms in the entertainment industries of China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Iran, Korea, Malaysia, and the Philippines. Placing women's voices in social and historical contexts, the essays explore salient discourses, representations, meanings, and politics of "voice" in Asian popular music. Historicizing the artistic sounds, lyrical texts, and visual images of female performers, the essays reveal how women used popular music to shape the ideas, practices, and meanings of modernity in various Asian contexts and time frames. The ascendency of women as performers paralleled, and in some cases generated, developments in wider society such as suffrage, social and sexual liberation, women as business entrepreneurs and independent income earners, and particularly as models for new life styles. Women's voices, mediated through new technologies of film and the phonograph, changed the soundscape of global popular music and resonate today in all spheres of modern life.
Global Music Series (Oxford University Press)
-
Music in Bali
by
Call Number: ML345.I5 G65 2005 & CD9796ISBN: 9780195141498Publication Date: 2004-10-28Music in Bali introduces the ensemble tradition of Balinese music, reflecting cooperative aspects of the island's social organization. Drawing on many years of study with Balinese performers in the United States and extensive fieldwork in Bali, author Lisa Gold presents contemporary Balinese performance within its cultural and historical context, linking Bali's rich past to its current role in modern, globalized society. She illustrates how new compositions borrow material from earlier traditions while also allowing for individual expression and innovation in vibrant present-day culture. By describing various performances--from a temple ceremony, to a shadow puppet performance, to a masked dance drama--Music in Bali surveys a wide range of performance contexts, from the highly sacred to the secular. It looks at the interconnected layers of the Balinese musical tradition, showing how the island's music, dance, theater, and ritual are intertwined. -
Music in Central Java
by
Call Number: ML345.I5 B75 2008 & CD10004ISBN: 9780195147377Publication Date: 2007-03-12Music in Central Java offers a vivid introduction to the region's musical and cultural landscape, showing how three themes--flexibility, appropriateness, and interconnectedness--characterize Javanese musical practices and traditions. Drawing on his extensive fieldwork, author Benjamin Brinner takes an in-depth look at gamelan music--a traditional musical ensemble tradition that typically features metallophones, xylophones, drums, and gongs--providing readers with a sense of what it means to be a musician performing gamelan. Building from fundamental Javanese concepts of time and melody, the book covers gamelan's instruments, musical idioms, and central interactions and also surveys contrasting performance contexts. It examines both the theatrical and musical aspects of the vibrant tradition of shadow-puppet plays (Wayang kulit) and offers a broad survey of other music found in Central Java. In addition, Music in Central Java provides an engaging portrait of a leading Javenese musician, traces musical responses to radical social, political, and cultural changes over the past century, and considers Javanese music in relation to Indonesia and the rest of the world. -
Music in China
by
Call Number: ML336 .L28 2008 & CD10576ISBN: 9780195301243Publication Date: 2007-11-14Music in China offers a unique exploration of the rich, dynamic, and multifaceted Chinese musical landscape. In contrast with previous scholarship--which focused almost exclusively on the role of music in elite culture--this volume takes a balanced look at a variety of traditional and modern genres, including those performed among local and regional folk musicians, in academia, in the media, and on concert stages both inside and outside of China. Using the interrelated themes of identity, modernization, and ideology as a narrative framework, author Frederick Lau discusses the musical features of the selected genres, the processes through which they came into existence, and related socio-political issues. Lau draws on his own extensive fieldwork and performance experience in both mainland China and its diasporic communities to show how the ever-changing Chinese musical tradition takes on particular meanings in China, in overseas Chinese communities, and in diverse international settings. -
Music in Japan
by
Call Number: ML340 .W22 2005 & CD 9470ISBN: 0195144880Publication Date: 2004-09-23Music in Japan offers a vivid introduction to the music of contemporary Japan, a nation in which traditional, Western, and popular music thrive side by side. Drawing on more than forty years of experience, author Bonnie C. Wade focuses on three themes throughout the book and in the musical selections on the accompanying CD. She begins by exploring how music in Japan has been profoundly affected by interface with both the Western (Europe and the Americas) and Asian (continental and island) cultural spheres. Wade then shows how Japan's thriving popular music industry is also a modern form of a historically important facet of Japanese musical culture: the process of gradual popularization, in which a local or a group's music eventually becomes accessible to a broader range of people. She goes on to consider the intertextuality of Japanese music: how familiar themes, musical sounds, and structures have been maintained and transformed across the various traditions of Japanese performing arts over time. -
Music in Korea
by
Call Number: ML342 .K867 2012 & CD12498ISBN: 9780195368277Publication Date: 2011-10-07Despite its longstanding position as a distinct cultural force in East Asia, Korea continues to be underrepresented in world music texts. Music in Korea is the first brief, single-volume text to provide a thematic, succinct introduction to the music of Korea - a region whose volatile political climate has often overshadowed its rich cultural and musical traditions. Based on author Donna Lee Kwon's extensive fieldwork, the text features interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, and vivid illustrations. Kwon uses three themes - Korea as a transnational player in East Asia, the intersection of Korean music and cultural politics, and Korea's maintenance of its strong cultural identity through both musical and aesthetic continuity - to survey the region and draw parallels and contrasts between its various traditions. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of Korea's classical musical customs and its contemporary developments. -
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia
by
Call Number: ML330 .D68 2010 & CD16444ISBN: 9780195367829Publication Date: 2009-11-20Mainland Southeast Asia is a culturally diverse and musically intriguing area, yet the ethnomusicological record lacks coverage of many of its musical and cultural traditions. Placing the music of this region within a social, cultural, and historical context, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is the first brief, stand-alone volume to profile the under-represented musical traditions of Burma, Cambodia, Thailand, and Vietnam. It also contains the first introduction to Burmese music ever presented in a music textbook. Drawing on his extensive fieldwork, author Gavin Douglas frames this survey of Southeast Asian music within three key themes: music and diversity, music and political turmoil, and music and globalization. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's classical musical traditions, folk traditions, and contemporary developments. Uniquely focusing on the people who practice these musical traditions - rather than the locales from which the traditions originate - the text also follows individuals out of their native lands and into diasporic communities throughout the world. A vibrant, thorough introduction, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses in Southeast Asian music or Southeast Asian culture. -
Music in North India
by
Call Number: ML338 .R83 2004 & CD10005ISBN: 9780195139938Publication Date: 2003-12-11North India is home to a wealth of musical traditions composed of many different styles, genres, and practices. Music in North India provides a representative overview of this music, discussing rhythm and drumming traditions, song composition and performance styles, and melodic and rhythmic instruments. Drawing on his experience as a sarod player, vocalist, and music teacher, author George Ruckert incorporates numerous musical exercises to demonstrate important concepts. The book ranges from the chants of the ancient Vedas to modern devotional singing and from the serious and meditative rendering of raga to the concert-hall excitement of the modern sitar, sarod, and tabla. It is framed around three major topics: the devotional component of North Indian music, the idea of fixity and spontaneity in the various styles of Indian music, and the importance of the verbal syllable to the expression of the musical aesthetic in North India. -
Music in Pacific Island Cultures
by
Call Number: ML3774 .D54 2011 & CD12526ISBN: 9780199733408Publication Date: 2011-11-17The islands of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia are steeped in diverse musical traditions that reach far beyond the expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Music in Pacific Island Cultures is the first brief, single-volume text to provide a thematic, succinct introduction to the music of the Pacific Islands - a region of the world that has long been underrepresented in ethnomusicological studies. Based on the authors' extensive fieldwork and experiences in Pacific Island cultures, the text draws on interviews with performers, eyewitness accounts of performances, vivid illustrations, and insights gained from ongoing participation in Pacific music. The authors use four themes - colonialism, belief systems, musical flows, and the re/presentation of Pacific cultures - to survey the region and draw parallels and contrasts between its various musical traditions. -
Music in South India
by
Call Number: ML338 .V57 2004 & CD10002ISBN: 9780195145915Publication Date: 2003-12-04Music in South India provides a vivid and focused introduction to the musical landscape of South India, discussing historical and contemporary performance, cultural history and geography, and the social organization of performance traditions. The book centers on Karnatak concert music, a unique performance practice that juxtaposes gorgeous musical compositions with many different types of improvisation. T. Viswanathan and Matthew Harp Allen first compare two types of song--bhajan, a structurally simple devotional genre, and kriti, the primary concert genre--and also analyze raga and tala, the basic elements underlying Karnatak music. They go on to examine the evolution of Karnatak music during the twentieth century, paying special attention to gender and caste and illuminating these issues through case studies and historical recordings (on the accompanying CD) of a small group of enormously influential musicians. In the final chapter, the authors move beyond Karnatak music to address other aspects of South India's rich musical environment, such as its thriving popular music scene (based on cinema music); regional traditions ranging from the sacred to the secular, many of which integrate elements from dance and drama; and contemporary composition. -
Music in Turkey
by
Call Number: ML345.T8 B37 2011 & CD12493ISBN: 9780195394146Publication Date: 2010-08-20Music in contemporary Turkey is inextricably linked to the history of the Republic of Turkey and the complex histories of the Ottoman Empire and numerous other empires that preceded it. It is also an ideal avenue for introducing one of the most vibrant multicultural areas in the Middle East. Turkey is home to a rich variety of highly localized musical traditions - comprised of regional repertoires, instruments, performance practices, and dances - bound together by a strong sense of national identity. The first brief, stand-alone volume to explore the musical and cultural traditions of this region, Music in Turkey places the diverse sounds of the country (and the Middle East at large) in their social contexts. Author Eliot Bates employs four themes in his survey of Turkish music: * The role of music in forming a national consciousness about local and regional cultures* How changes in musical meaning pertain to changes in contemporary Turkish society* The process of arrangement, where technology is creatively used to revitalize and modernize traditional music* How today's Anatolian musical instrument performance and construction are linked to local, regional, and national identities. The author draws on his extensive regional fieldwork, offering accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations. Music in Turkey is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses on Middle Eastern music and/or culture. -
Thinking Musically
by
Call Number: ML3798 .W33 2004 & CD8250ISBN: 0195136640Publication Date: 2003-09-18Thinking Musically is the central volume in the Global Music Series. Designed for undergraduates and general readers with little or no background in music, it incorporates music from many diverse cultures--including the Americas, Asia, Africa, Oceania, and Europe--and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of music around the world. It sets the stage for an array of case study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Thinking Musically discusses the importance of musical instruments, describing their significance in a culture's folklore, religion, and history. It explores fundamental elements of music--including rhythm, pitch in melodic and harmonic relationships, and form--and examines how they vary in different musical traditions. The text considers the effects of cultural influences such as gender and ethnicity on the perception, interpretation, and performance of music. It also looks at how the forces of nationalism, acculturation, and westernization can affect musical traditions. Many of the musical examples are coordinated with material in the case studies. Thinking Musically includes activities designed to build critical listening and individual study skills and is packaged with an 80-minute CD that features selections from a wide variety of musical cultures.
Call Number Ranges for Browsing the Shelves
Subclass ML — Literature on Music (ML1-3930)
ML159-3785 Music history and criticism
ML198-360.6 By region or country
ML3469-3541 Popular music
ML3544-3776 Folk, national, and ethnic music
ML3740-3740.6 Asia
- ML3746 China
- ML3747 Taiwan
- ML3748 India
- ML3750 Japan
- ML3752 Korea (including South Korea)
- ML3753 Korea (North)
- ML3758.A783-.A7836 Asia, Central
- ML3758.M6 Mongolia
- ML3758.T5 Thailand
ML3797.6-3799.4 Ethnomusicology
ML3800-3923 Philosophical and societal aspects of music. Physics and acoustics of music. Physiological aspects of music.
ML3916-3918 Social and political aspects of music
ML3921-3921.8 Religious aspects of music