Skip to main content

British History: British History

Getting Started

Begin your research with reference books to explore topics, find background information, discover leads to more in-depth resources, and locate statistics.

Look for general, subject-specific, or data-focused reference books like some of these below.  You can search InfoKat Discovery to find more using these keyword combinations: Great Britain History Encyclopedias and limit the search results to Books or just click here!

Browse the Background Information tab above to learn about more titles for British History.

 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Oxford University Press, 2018

Contains nearly 59,000 biographies (with over 11,000 portraits) of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Excludes living people.  Access: Full-Text Online

 

 

 

 

 

The Oxford Companion to Black British History
Oxford University Press, 2007

The Oxford Companion to Black British History explores the subject from its beginnings in Roman times to the present day. From African auxiliaries stationed on Hadrian's Wall in the 2nd century AD, through John Edmonstone, who taught taxidermy to Charles Darwin, Mary Seacole, the 'Black Florence Nightingale', and Walter Tull, footballer and First World War officer, to our own day, the OCBBH provides detailed timeline charts and key dates for people and events.  Access: Full-Text Online  Also Available in Print: Young Library - Books - 3rd Floor (DA125.N4 O94 2007)  

 

 

 

 

Reader's Guide to British History (v. 1-2)
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003

Two-volume set covering all aspects of British History through historiographical essays.  Available in print: Young Library - Books - 3rd Floor (DA34 .R43 2003)

 

 

 

 

 

A Dictionary of British History
Oxford University Press, 2009

Containing more than 3,800 authoritative entries written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.  Access: Full-Text Online

 

 

 

 

 

The New A-Z of Empire: A Concise Handbook of British Imperial History
I B Tauris, 2011

Containing more than 3,800 authoritative entries written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.  Available in print: Young Library - Books - 4th Floor (JV1101 .F384 2011)

Librarian

Jennifer Hootman's picture
Jennifer Hootman
Contact:
William T. Young Library, 1-15
500 S. Limestone Street
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-2284
Subjects:History