It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books from London, the British Isles and the colonies gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817): "the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media." The present digital collection totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.
Consists of 19th century newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers (e.g., those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial areas of the manufacturing Midlands) as well as publications from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.
Full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. In addition to searching by author, title keywords, subject terms and author addresses, you can also search by the specific references and works (e.g., art works, musical scores, books) that the indexed articles cite. Links to Cited References and Times Cites (with links to the citing article if it is included in the database) are available in each record. A&HCI covers over 1,700 core journals plus selected articles from social science and scientific publications that are relevant to arts and humanities topics.
Full color facsimile run of over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full-text searchable and browsable individual issues, including specials and supplements. Articles and pages can be saved in the marked list then bookmarked, e-mailed and printed. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.
Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.