Skip to main content

History - British: Microfilm

A general guide for researching British history

Page Contents

Microfilm Holdings Database

This database provides access to the University of Kentucky's holdings of microfilm masters, including newspapers as well as other primary sources. Not all Kentucky newspapers available for viewing are included in this database (e.g., The Lexington Herald-Leader and The Courier-Journal). To find other available Kentucky newspapers, search InfoKat Discovery, the Libraries' online catalog, or consult the librarians at the Reference Desk.

The microfilm is available for viewing in the Periodicals Dept at the William T. Young Library or the Special Collections Research Center in the Margaret I. King Library. If you are unable to travel to campus, you can request microfilm through your Interlibrary Loan department (only if you are affiliated with another institution) or visit the Contact Us page to order a digital scan of a microfilm reel(s). There is no fee for this service, but we ask that patrons limit their requests to three reels per month.

Microfilm Collections

Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlemen, 1560-1918  

Papers from the Mass-Observation Archive at the University of Sussex  

The Rawlinson manuscript collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford  

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940. literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 1: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London  

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940. literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 2: Romantic friendships & lesbian relationships in literature and history  

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940: literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 3: Erotica, 1657-1889, from the Private Case Collection at the British Library, London  

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940: literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 4: Erotica, 1890-1908, from the Private Case Collection at the British Library, London  

The Suffragette fellowship collection from the Museum of London  

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: advice books, manuals, and journals for women: Part 5: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford 

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: Part 6, Sources from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds: works on household management and domestic economy  

Women's Language and Experience, 1500-1940: Women's diaries and related sources  

Working Women in Victorian Britain: the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Culwick (1833-1909) from Trinity College, Cambridge