Need help? Just ask!
Using Article Databases
Article databases allow you to access scholarly journal articles and often other resources like books, reference materials, and popular magazine and newspaper articles. Database search results are more focused and precise than those you find while web searching. Databases are also more trustworthy than the web. All material in databases is evaluated for accuracy and credibility by subject area specialists.
Top Research Databases - find articles on education related topics
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
This link opens in a new window
- Education Database (ProQuest) Indexing and abstracting access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text. Subject coverage includes: adult education, elementary education, higher education, home schooling, secondary education, special needs education, teacher education.
- This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost] Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO Provides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Databases Access to a wide range of databases primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text International journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc., and contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index.
- This link opens in a new window
InfoKat Discovery - find books, research articles, and more.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
This link opens in a new window
Open Access Journals in Educaiton
Other Useful Links
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- This link opens in a new window
- A-Z Database ListThis is the complete list of academic databases available from UK Libraries. Remember to use your Link Blue account to access these.
- Education Statistics (EdStats)Features international stats and comparison data.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the US.
- What Works ClearinghouseFind the information to make evidence-based decisions about teaching and learning.
What are Scholarly Articles?
Introduction to Scholarly Articles helps you learn about what defines a scholarly article, whether or not "scholarly" means "peer reviewed", etc.
Length: Approximately 6-8 minutes
How to - Searching for Articles
This Selecting Search Terms animation is helpful understanding the process of turning your research topic into helpful search terms in our databases.
The Using the View Now Button animation explains what this button is and how to use it when you come across it in library databases.
For materials that UK does not own, Interlibrary Loan is a great service for you to be familiar with. This short clip about Interlibrary Loan explains what ILL is and how to request materials using it.
