It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil Engineering: Article Databases
Primary research guide for civil engineering students and researchers.
There are several primary engineering databases that contain information specifically useful to civil engineers. If you need additional subject resources in another field, such as chemical engineering, use the links in the left box on the Getting Started page. Click on the Database Tutorials Tab for further assistance with these databases. Here are the primary civil engineering databases:
CompendexEngineering research abstracts database. Contains references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage begins in 1884 and includes all fields of engineering.
ScopusSCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Engineering IndexIncludes primary coverage of civil engineering. Also includes publications from complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
Also provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Includes several hundred earlier classic papers and reports (as far back as 1890).
Agricultural and Environmental Science CollectionProvides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Find out the journal impact factor here!