Purpose of Guide
Resources here are relevant to all social science disciplines, while some are specific to social work researchers, and include how to identify publishing venues (journals), evaluating journal quality, author rights, and links to guides that walk you through publishing a journal article.
Identifying Journal Titles
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb)Bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters from around the world.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
Evaluating Journal Quality
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)Journal evaluation resource. JCR Science Edition contains data about more than 8,000 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data about more than 2,600 journals in the social sciences.
- Think. Check. Submit.Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications
Research on Social Work Journals
Hodge, D. R., Yu, M., & Kim, A. (2020). Assessing the Quality and Prestige of Disciplinary Social Work Journals: A National Study of Faculty Perceptions. Research on Social Work Practice, 30(4), 451–459. https://doi.org/10.1177/1049731519890402
Epstein, W. M. (2004). Confirmational Response Bias and the Quality of the Editorial Processes Among American Social Work Journals. Research on Social Work Practice, 14(6), 450–458. https://doi.org/10.1177/1049731504265838
Bender, K., & Windsor, L. C. (2010). The Four P s of Publishing: Demystifying Publishing in Peer-Reviewed Journals for Social Work Doctoral Students. Journal of Teaching in Social Work, 30(2), 147-158. https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/08841231003697999
Guides to Publishing Journal Articles
- Publishing Journal Articles [eBook] | SAGE Research MethodsWhen, what, and where to publish. Working with publishers and journal editors. Getting the style right. Recovering from rejection.
- Discrimination in Research and Scholarly Publishing [eVideo] | SAGE Research MethodsUnconscious and conscious bias and discrimination in scholarly publishing, peer review and editorial decision making.
- Writing for Publication [eBook] | SAGE Research MethodsWriting for publication in journals and books.
Author Rights
Section 106 of the Copyright Act states that only the owner of a copyright has the authority to:
- Reproduce the work (i.e. make physical or digital copies)
- Create derivative works (i.e. subsequent articles, book chapters, etc.)
- Distribute copies of the work
- Publicly perform the work (i.e. show video at a conference)
- Publicly display the work (i.e. show photos, tables, and figures from your works)
- Publicly perform sound recordings via a digital audio transmission
eBooks about Publishing
Getting Published in Academic Journals by
The pressure on graduate students and new PhDs to publish their work continues to grow with writing and publishing considered an important measure of career success within the academy. There is, however, more to the process of getting published than those who are new to the process initially realize. The aim of this guide is to clarify the process and offer advice. Getting Published in Academic Journals is written for graduate students and newly graduated PhDs who want to publish their research in peer-reviewed academic journals. Getting Published in Academic Journals draws on the experiences of the authors as editors of peer-reviewed journals, as teachers of writing-for-publication courses and workshops, as researchers of the scholarly publication process, as reviewers of hundreds of articles, and as published authors. The book is written to be used in courses and workshops on publishing, as a supplement to the books in the revised and updated English in Today's Research World (Swales & Feak) series, and as a stand-alone guide for academic writers working independently.
Call Number: eBook / onlinePublication Date: 2016
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
Call Number: eBook / onlineISBN: 9781119583615Publication Date: 2021
