Clinical Social Work Resources
Clinical social work resources below include research databases, the DSM-5-TR, and reviews of tests and measures.
Research Databases for Clinical Social Work
- PsycINFOProvides access to abstracts, citations, articles, books, and dissertations in the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences. Includes all American Psychological Association journals.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) CompleteProvides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available, plus the full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- Social Work AbstractsProduced by the National Association of Social Workers. Contains references to social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Please note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
Tests and Measures
HAPI and MMY contain reviews of tests and measures, which often include validity and reliability information.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, codes schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests) in health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
- Mental Measurements YearbookProduced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Please note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
Clinical Overviews
- ClinicalKeyA point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and other healthcare professionals. It provides access to a unique combination of medical reference books, medical journals, drug information, and practice guidelines. NOTE: ClinicalKey requires registration/login with a UKY email address to download PDFs of books and/or book chapters.
DSM-5-TR
- DSM-5-TRText Revision of the DSM-5 (5th ed), released in 2022.
- DSM-5 (PsychiatryOnline)Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is the guidebook used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
- PsychiatryOnline and Psychiatry Legacy CollectionOnline portal featuring the publication of the American Psychiatric Association including the DSM-5, electronic textbooks, APA guidelines, and access to the American Psychiatric Association journals from their inception.
Therapist Guides and Workbooks
Research-based cognitive-behavioral treatment programs that have been tested in clinical trials. Series includes an online therapist guide and workbook for each disorder.