Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: Databases

Research guide for social work.

Databases for scholarly articles (use these first!)

Tutorials for Social Work Databases

Note: EBSCO tutorials pertain to Social Work Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection databases.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Theses and dissertations completed by University of Kentucky students can be found in InfoKat Discovery. For new theses and dissertations that have just been released, they may be findable on UKnowledge only until after they have been added to InfoKat Discovery.

Other resources for finding theses and dissertations include:

Clinical, medical, & health databases

Additional Databases

Legal & government resources

If you're looking for U.S. laws or government information about social and civil topics involving human rights, social justice, social welfare, and related topics, you might consider these resources. To use effectively, you'll often need to know which law(s), case(s), and/or publication(s) you're looking for.

Social Sciences Librarian

Are all articles full-text online?

Many journal articles to which UK Libraries has access are available to you full-text online in .PDF format.

However, sometimes you may encounter a bibliographic record for an article to which we do not have access. When this happens, you can request that we get the article from another library using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you have questions about or need assistance with ILL, please contact them.

ILL contact info:

Borrowing: (859) 218-1880
Lending: (859) 218-2049
Document Delivery: (859) 218-1203
Fax: (859) 257-0502
Email: ILLBorrowing@uky.edu

Finding a Known Item