It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Searching for Information on China
China is a large, complex country and no one reference source can cover all aspects of China. This guide is intended to be a starting point on all aspects of China, including Taiwan and Hong Kong. It is divided into broad areas: each page provides you with a few sources for finding general information. It also gives you additional research guides as well as the names and contact information of subject specialists available to you in the UK Libraries to help you with any area of research dealing with China. We hope you find this guide helpful and that you will avail yourself of the extensive resources available to you through UK Libraries.
Additional Sources for General Information
The sources listed below provide scholarly information on a variety of subjects.
Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Includes an Image Collection.
Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society.
Contains non-English full-text news sources from around the world, including non-English major newspapers, magazines and trade publications that are relied upon for "accuracy and integrity of their reporting."
Contains citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. Covers 1915-present.