Kentucky Writers: Authors of the Bluegrass State is a research guide dedicated to Kentucky authors. This collection of authors includes native Kentuckians and those who have simply come to call Kentucky home. Here you will find authors who are not only prolific and well-known, but also those whose careers were brief, with limited out-put. The collection highlights a variety of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, novels, short-stories, poetry, professional writings, and more.
The Kentucky Collects LibGuides are created by the University of Kentucky's Special Collections and Rare Books Catalogers. These guides highlight unique collections housed at the University of Kentucky and the centuries of creative and scholarly writing from across the entire state. Intended for the advanced researcher as well as the mildly curious, the Kentucky Collects Guides navigate the vast repository of Kentucky literature and diverse resources available at the University of Kentucky.
The 2021 Kentucky Book Festival celebrates its 40th anniversary with with a mix of virtual and in-person events from November 1-6. Sessions include Kentucky authors such as Crystal Wilkinson, Richard Taylor, Bobbie Ann Mason, Gurney Norman, Silas House, Alan Sullivan, William H. Turner, and more. For more information on the 2021 Festival, visit the Kentucky Humanities Book Fair website.
The University Press of Kentucky has a dual mission—the publication of books of high scholarly merit in a variety of fields for a largely academic audience and the publication of books about the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. The Press is the statewide mandated nonprofit scholarly publisher for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, operated as an agency of the University of Kentucky and serving all state institutions of higher learning, plus five private colleges and Kentucky's two major historical societies.
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
You may come across language in UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collections and online resources that you find harmful or offensive. SCRC collects materials from different cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. These materials document the time period when they were created and the view of their creator. As a result, some may demonstrate racist and offensive views that do not reflect the values of UK Libraries.
If you find description with problematic language that you think SCRC should review, please contact us at SCRC@uky.edu.
This site is a work in progress! New authors are being added everyday. Don't see the Kentucky Author you're looking for? Let us know by filling out the form below.