Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kentucky Writers: Authors of the Bluegrass State

"Authors of the Bluegrass State" is a guide by Kentucky Collects. This guide provides information about authors and writers from Kentucky and their work.
Palmares
The Kentucky River
All about Love
The Birds of Opulence
Kentucky's Cookbook Heritage: Two Hundred Years of Southern Cuisine and Culture
Still Running
Kentucky Bourbon Whiskey: An American Heritage
The True Mary Todd Lincoln: A Biography
Hidden History of Horse Racing in Kentucky
Adoph Rupp and the Rise of Kentucky Basketball
The Carrying
The Land We Dreamed: Poems
Bourbon Desserts
Appalachian Elegy: Poetry and Place
Bounce Back
The Queen's Gambit
Kentucky's Famous Racehorses
Embattled Freedom: Journeys Through the Civil War's Slave Refugee Camps
A Simple Justice: Kentucky Women Fight for the Right to Vote
Dead Distillers: A History of the Upstarts and Outlaws Who Made American Spirits
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
Perfect Black

Kentucky Writers: Authors of the Bluegrass State is a research guide dedicated to Kentucky authors. This collection of authors includes native Kentuckians and those who have simply come to call Kentucky home. Here you will find authors who are not only prolific and well-known, but also those whose careers were brief, with limited out-put. The collection highlights a variety of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, novels, short-stories, poetry, professional writings, and more.

The University Press of Kentucky

The University Press of Kentucky has a dual mission—the publication of books of high scholarly merit in a variety of fields for a largely academic audience and the publication of books about the history and culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia. The Press is the statewide mandated nonprofit scholarly publisher for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, operated as an agency of the University of Kentucky and serving all state institutions of higher learning, plus five private colleges and Kentucky's two major historical societies.

University Press of Kentucky

The Kentucky Book Festival

Kentucky Humanities

The 2022 Kentucky Book Festival celebrates its 41st anniversary and will return to Joseph-Beth Booksellers in Lexington on October 29, 2022.  For more information on the 2022 Festival, visit the Kentucky Humanities Book Fair website.

Terminology and Historical Sources

You may come across language in UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center collections and online resources that you find harmful or offensive. SCRC collects materials from different cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record. These materials document the time period when they were created and the view of their creator. As a result, some may demonstrate racist and offensive views that do not reflect the values of UK Libraries.

If you find description with problematic language that you think SCRC should review, please contact us at SCRC@uky.edu.

Kentucky Collects

The Kentucky Collects LibGuides are created by the University of Kentucky's Special Collections and Rare Books Catalogers. These guides highlight unique collections housed at the University of Kentucky and the centuries of creative and scholarly writing from across the entire state. Intended for the advanced researcher as well as the mildly curious, the Kentucky Collects Guides navigate the vast repository of Kentucky literature and diverse resources available at the University of Kentucky.

Community Book Clubs

Special Collections and Rare Books Cataloging Librarian

Profile Photo
Cindy Cline
she/her/hers
Contact:
401 M I King Library

University of Kentucky Libraries

Lexington, KY 40506-0039



Phone: 859-257-9421

Fax: 859-257-6311

email: cdcline@uky.edu

Kentucky Author Form

This site is a work in progress! New authors are being added everyday. Don't see the Kentucky Author you're looking for? Let us know by filling out the form below. 

Anti-Racism Resources

undefined

Related Guides