Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Books at the University of Kentucky Libraries: Welcome!

Search All E-Books

If you would like to search all UK Libraries e-books, including those hosted on the platforms discussed in this guide, please try InfoKat Discovery, using “Advanced Search” > “Materials” to limit to Books. Then click “Full Text Online” under the "Availability" section of the "Refine My Results" options listed on the left of your screen.

About this Guide

UK Libraries provide access to numerous e-books across a number of platforms. Each platform has its own unique user options, software requirements, and format availability. The differences can sometimes make navigating these databases confusing!

This guide provides a quick, handy reference to help eliminate any confusion and answer any questions you might have about our e-book resources.  Each page in this guide is dedicated to a specific resource and contains all the information you will need to know about accessing and using e-books within that particular database.

E-Books

Important Information Included in this Guide

Each of our LibGuides pages for the individual e-book resource is formatted the same way and contains the following boxes:

“About this Resource”

This box contains background information about the database and describes the genres/subjects available.

"Use and Download Info"

In this box, you will find what file formats are available, any special software requirements for accessing or using e-books via that platform, and available options for accessing content via a mobile device such as a smart phone or tablet.

"Other Usage Info”

In this box, you will find the length of checkout time for checking out full e-books and options for placing a hold or renewing checked out e-books (both of these apply specifically to dedicated e-book platforms).

You will also find any specified limits on the number of users that may access a resource at once. This is very important to note, because some of our e-books default to single-user access unless otherwise specified, meaning that if one person checks out an e-book, it will not be available for anyone else to use until it is checked back in. 

***If you have questions about user limits on a specific title, or if you are a professor wishing to assign a book for a class, please consult a librarian beforehand to ensure that there will be sufficient access to the title.

This box also lists any special restrictions on printing. Please note that even if it is not explicitly stated, copyright law and common sense apply to all downloading and printing options. Do not make several copies of a document to distribute or post online without proper permission. If you have questions about fair use, feel free to ask us.

“Mobile App”

If you see this box on the LibGuides page that means this resource has a Mobile App that you can download to use the database on your phone.  This box will provide any information on how to download the App and how it can be used.

(Note: Not every database will have a Mobile App available.)

“Ask Us”

The “Ask Us” box is included on each page so that you can reach a UK librarian should you have any problems trying to access the databases or have any questions the guide does not answer.  You can email, call, chat, or visit us!

Electronic Resources Library Manager