Journal Articles
Journal articles will yield research and understandings from experts in the field.
A quick way to get started searching for journal articles on COVID-19 or other historical epidemics and diseases is to start with InfoKat Discovery.
For example, searching with keywords such as "covid-19," or "covid-19 pandemic." Then, filter your search results to "Articles." You can also filter your results by date and language.
Or try searching some of these databases below.
- America: History and LifeThe premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users
- Historical AbstractsThe premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Please note: Subscription limited to six simultaneous users.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- LitCovidLitCovid provids central access to 401,969 (and growing ) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection indexes primary journals and article citations in several databases spanning a wide range of disciplines.
- healthfinder This link opens in a new windowThis consumer-oriented site has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.