Newspaper Articles
Newspaper articles can provide a lot of information on historical, near past, and recent events. In news articles you can track coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic, breaking information, stories, statistical information, opinions, and more. You can the same kind of information on historical epidemics and diseases as well in newspapers. Try some of the newspaper databases below to locate these types of articles.
World News
- Access International NewsSearch interface and list of the nearly 1,300 international news resources available in Access World News (NewsBank).
- Access World News (Upgrade)The University of Kentucky subscribes to a legacy product, Access World News L. Newsbank is sunsetting these products in the future, and want to partner with the libraries to provide the updated content this year. The upgrade includes 3,498+ new sources for the library, including 219 full-color PDF image editions from around the world.
Local News
- Lexington Herald-Leader Digital ArchiveDigital archives (with PDFs) dating back to 1888 (for the Lexington Leader) and 1896 (for the Morning Herald) to present day as the Lexington Herald-Leader. Text archives back to 1983.
- Kentucky Newspapers in Access World NewsSearch the Kentucky newspapers available from Access World News (NewsBank).
US News
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersAccess to scanned newspaper pages from 1690-present and information about other American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- New York Times Historical EditionSearchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
- New York Times (2008-recent)This is a digital copy of the New York Times from 2008 to recent. There is a 3 month embargo on content.
- New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
- Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest. Coverage: Jan. 2, 1984 - present
- Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
- Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides selected full-text for nearly 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Also contains selected full-text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, and The San Jose Mercury News. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
- Alt-Press WatchFull-text database of approximately 190 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. Coverage varies (oldest 1970; most publications 1995 - present)