[Guide used in research study, Spring 2013. Link to current WRD 111 Guide for UK Students.]
Next, find information about your topic.
The links below connect you to articles and newspapers, books, websites, videos, and more
Also look for additional links that pertain directly to your class section.
Depending on what you find, you might need to revise your topic or search strategy.
If you are having trouble finding information on your topic, always feel free to Ask Us!
Selected databases that contain a variety of journal and/or newspaper articles:
Selected statistical sources:
Selected resources to find videos and images:
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
Selected resources specific to Kentucky and/or Lexington:
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar provides an easy way to search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and resources. See instructions for setting up Google Scholar to access additional online fulltext available to UK users.
If you search Google Scholar instead of just searching Google, you can dig deeper into the billions of resources contained on the web. But did you know that Google only searches around 30% of the web?