Business and Economics Liaison
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409
Country-Specific Information
- BBC Country ProfilesCountry overviews with special attention paid to a description of each country's media system.
- Country Fact Sheets - U.S. Department of StatePamphlets written by the State Department for most countries in the world. Each includes a section on foreign relations between that country and the United States including a listing for each ambassador.
- Country Report via Mergent ArchivesReports detailing essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Includes Political Risk as well as other key information.
- Nexis UniThe box labeled "Get Country Info" provides a variety of resources on various countries. Simply chose a country and then the type of source desired. Sources include: Business Monitor International, Country Briefings, PRS Risk Guide and Services, and Recent News Stories.
- Economic Outlook (OECD)The OECD Economic Outlook is the OECD’s twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments.
- World FactbookThe World Factbook (from the CIA) provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Country Report via Mergent ArchivesIncludes reports detailing essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide.
Comprehensive information for evaluating risks and opportunities across the globe.
International Business Cultural Studies and Etiquette
Culture and Leadership Across the World by Call Number: HM1261 .C85 2007Publication Date: 2007This volume effectively presents a complex collection of global research addressing the culture of particular countries, leadership qualities within those countries, and recommendations on how managers should conduct business in countries other than their own.
Asian Versus Western Management Thinking by Call Number: HD30.19 .K37 2011Publication Date: 2011This book attempts to address the important question of to what extent the theories of management are universally applicable principles and to what extent are they specific to particular cultural, national and temporal contexts.
Eastern and Cross Cultural Management by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012This path-breaking book liberates management thinking from a century of Western subjugation. It is a comparative exposition of culture and management styles in India, Japan, China and major Western countries.
Beyond Hofstede by Call Number: HF5415 .B4455 2009Publication Date: 2009Hofstede introduced a culture paradigm that has been widely influential in international business. However, it’s relevance in light of culture’s increasing complexity due to globalization has been questioned. In this book, alternative culture frameworks and perspectives are offered by leading scholars in global marketing and management.
Guanxi and Business Strategy by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2007Guanxi and Business Strategy elaborates upon a topic of paramount importance to both academic scholars and managers doing business with China: the impact of personal relationships (guanxi) on business affairs.
The Chinese Negotiator by Call Number: HD58.6 .M364 2007Publication Date: 2006America is just now waking up to the business potential and problems of dealing with a newly aggressive China. And with this wake-up call comes an increasing need for an authoritative, easy-to-read, practical guide to doing business with the Chinese. The authors, with over five decades of East-West negotiating experience between them, cover techniques of all kinds, including successful and failed strategies, how to win the real trust of the Chinese, how to follow customs Chinese understand, how to negotiate a fair deal, and how to build a long-term business relationship.
Japanese Investment in the World Economy by Call Number: HD62.4 .F37 2008Publication Date: 2008Broad in scope and rich in detail, this book examines the rise and fall of Japanese foreign direct investment (FDI) in nearly two dozen industries, from electronics and automobile manufacturing to real estate and construction services, in almost every region of the world over the past half century or more. The result is an encyclopedic volume (459 pages with index) useful for East Asian business scholars or those interested in the overseas activities of Japanese firms.
Models for Intercultural Collaboration and Negotiation by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013This book is the first to bring together research material from different communities, Computer Science and especially Artificial Intelligence, and Social Sciences that present ideas and viewpoints, methods and models on inter-cultural collaboration and negotiation.With increasing globalization of business and science, cultural differences of the parties are an important factor that affects the process and outcomes of collaborative and self-interested interactions.
Other Useful Sources
- World Education EncyclopediaThis 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.
- Governments of the WorldThis wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia describes and analyzes how the governments profiled affect citizens in the daily exercise of their rights and responsibilities. Arranged alphabetically and richly illustrated, Governments of the World features biographies and historical surveys on different types of political systems, such as constitutional monarchies, presidential systems, democracies and dictatorships, and much more.
- Food Cultures of the World EncyclopediaIntroduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook 2011ISBN: 1414453396Publication Date: 2010Compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.
- Encyclopedia of Global HealthCovers all aspects of global health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
- Encyclopedia of PoliticsThis two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).