Business and Economics Liaison
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409
E-Books
- International Trade Agreements and Political Economy, 2013This book presents a comprehensive view of recent developments in the theory of international trade agreements and political economy. This work introduces terms of trade effects and strategic behavior to the theory of international trade agreements. This is complemented by a careful analysis of how politics affects international trade agreements.
- Business Development Opportunities and Market Entry Challenges in Latin America, 2016This book provides a practical, in-depth look at the different challenges and opportunities present in the Latin American economy
- Handbook of Research on Internationalization of Entrepreneurial Innovation in the Global Economy, 2015This book brings together research on international business, entrepreneurship, and innovation in order to present a comprehensive publication for business professionals.
- Small Business in a Global Economy, 2015This work explores the behavior and decision making of small companies; their business strategies for launch, growth, and survival; and their contribution to the larger global economy. Utilizing information and data gleaned from proven entrepreneurs and small business operations, this reference provides insight into the political, environmental, and competitive forces that support and impede small business ownership, and offers strategies for navigating them.
- Asian Business and Management Practices, 2015This book analyzes the various strategies found in the Asian economic market, showcasing a broad range of countries in Southeast Asia in addition to China and India.
- Handbook of Research on Global Competitive Advantage through Innovation and Entrepreneurship, 2015This book explores the emergence of new ideas and opportunities in various markets and provides organizational leaders with the tools they need to take full advantage of those opportunities.
- Handbook of Research on Global Business Opportunities, 2015This book combines comprehensive viewpoints and research on various business enterprises from around the world in companies of all sizes and models, discussing different aspects and concerns in the global business environment such as corruption, taxation, supply chain management, and economic impacts.
- Cultural and Technological Influences on Global Business, 2013This book emphasizes the importance of deeply exploring the effects of cultures and technologies and their effects on the global business sector.
- Emerging Markets and the Global Economy, 2014This book investigates analytical techniques suited to emerging market economies, which are typically prone to policy shocks. Describing the linkages between emerging and developed markets, it systematically explores several crucial issues in asset valuation and risk management. Contributors present new theoretical constructions and empirical methods for handling cross-country volatility and sudden regime shifts.
- The Impact of Globalization on the United States, 2008Covers the impact of globalization on the United States and American society in particular, turning the tables on the more familiar idea of America as the nefarious globalizer of the developing world.
Books
Understanding Global Trade by Call Number: HF1379 .H457 2011Publication Date: 2011Global trade is of vital interest to citizens as well as policymakers, yet it is widely misunderstood. This compact exposition of the market forces underlying international commerce addresses both of these concerned groups, as well as the needs of students and scholars.
Votes, Vetoes, and the Political Economy of International Trade Agreements by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Preferential trading arrangements (PTAs) play an increasingly prominent role in the global political economy, two notable examples being the European Union and the North American Free Trade Agreement. Yet despite the importance of PTAs to international trade and world politics, until now little attention has been focused on why governments choose to join them and how governments design them. This book offers valuable new insights into the political economy of PTA formation.
The Great Rebalancing by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Noted economist and China expert Michael Pettis argues that we are undergoing a critical rebalancing of the world economies. Debunking popular misconceptions, Pettis shows that severe trade imbalances spurred on the recent financial crisis and were the result of unfortunate policies that distorted the savings and consumption patterns of certain nations.
Websites
- A.M. Best Country Risk ReportsProvides a rating assessing economic risk factors in various countries.
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisProvides various facts and data about international trade including investment outlooks, multinational enterprises, and imports and exports.
- Business without BordersNon-profit that connects entrepreneurs around the world.
"We bridge the gap between resources and needs. Our goal is to use the expertise, equipment and resources that are available through US businesses to equip and empower projects and organizations that are striving to make a difference in the lives of others." - Export.govProvides market intelligence, tools, events, and research to companies looking to expand internationally.
- globalEDGEKnowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
- International Trade Centre - Country ProfilesSee COUNTRIES/TERRITORIES on the right of the top nav bar.
A drop-down menu allows you to select information on specific countries or regions and includes data on exports, imports, trade performance and consistency of trade. - International Trade StatisticsTrade Map is free for users in developing countries and provides trade statistics and market access information for export development. By transforming the large volume of primary trade data into an accessible, user-friendly, web-based format, Trade Map provides indicators on export performance, international demand, alternative markets and the role of competitors. Trade Map covers yearly trade data for 220 countries and territories and all 5,300 products of the Harmonized System.
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics DatabaseThe UN Comtrade database contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962. Free access to all of the data available in UN Comtrade database. For technical reasons there is a download limit of 50,000 records per query (without limitation on number of queries). Premium service (personalization feature and bulk download of millions of records/data streaming via web services) is available for a fee.
- USA Trade OnlineAccess to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.
- WTO Trade and Tariff DataThe World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible. The WTO's databases and publications provide extensive access to trade and tariff data.
Statistics and Indicators
- World Development Indicators (WDI) OnlineAnnual compilation of data about development, with access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups.
- Tradestats ExpressCollection of the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics.
- EuroStatStatistics on European Union that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
- Statistical InsightIndexes, abstracts, and presents tabular statistical data published by U.S. federal and state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, and American private organizations.
- IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)Provides predefined data reports or "build your own query" reports by country, topic, or data source, as well as queries within both the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and Trade and Investment. Also includes the IMF Data Mapper which allows you to plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions. Data is drawn from:
International Financial Statistics – international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.
Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.
Balance of Payments - international economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960.
Government Finance Statistics - budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990. - OECD FactbookStatistical annual showing a range of key statistics for OECD member countries and major additional countries. For each indicator presented, there is explanatory text including a definition, explanation of long-term trends, and references; a table showing the indicator over a significant time span for all countries covered, and graphics showing the key messages contained in the data. Under each table is a link to an Excel spreadsheet enabling the user to access the data.
- United Nations Statistical Databases"Compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems."
- Asian Development Bank – Data and ResearchEconomic research and statistical work contributes to knowledge generation in ADB and help strengthen its institutional priorities and effectiveness of country operations. It also allows ADB to provide informed policy advice and undertake capacity building.
- European Central Bank – Statistical DataProvides access to statistical data and metadata available at the ECB. Data in the SDW is organised into datasets, such as BOP, BSI and EXR.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a vast compilation of data with maps and graphs on statistics rom hundreds of sources.
Trade Associations
- Federation of International Trade Associations"The FITA Global Trade Portal, is the source for international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites."