Communication
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)The major database for scholarly literature in communication studies. Includes many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
- ScopusScopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field.
- StatistaStatista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
- Web of Science: All DatabasesScientific and academic research, patent analytics and regulatory standards, pharmaceutical and biotech intelligence, trademark protection, domain brand protection, and intellectual property management services.
Academic Search Complete Search Results
This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Complete search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.
Find Other Databases
UK subscribes to hundreds of databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Complete, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest.
Research Guides provide the key databases in many disciplines plus other relevant library resources related to the subject.
Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s).
New York Times
Interested in accessing the New York Times online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below with the first link, and use the second link to access it after registering.
- New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
- New York Times Digital Edition (Registered Users)Once you have registered for an account through the new user link, you have an basic digital access subscription to the New York Times through the University of Kentucky. This subscription includes unlimited access on NYTimes.com, archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day); augmented reality/virtual reality (found in the App), daily 360 content, podcasts, all multimedia, newsletters, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com, and unlimited access to The New York Times in Education website and The Learning Network.
Wall Street Journal
Interested in accessing the Wall Street Journal online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below and use the link for access.
- Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:
- doesn’t require a personal account;
- doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
- is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).
Install the Extension
- Download the extension from the Chrome Web Store.
- Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
- That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites.
EndNote Click
EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and UK Libraries' subscriptions to find the best available paper for you. LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click complement one another. We recommend installing both to your browser.
Create an Account
You will need to create an EndNote Click Account.
Then you will need to select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
Now you should be able to access PDFs directly from resources like Google Scholar, PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, and many more resources!
On-campus access
EndNote Click automatically detects your library subscriptions when you are on campus based on your IP address. You don't need to do anything.
Off-campus access
UK Libraries supports off campus access through EZproxy. You will be asked when off campus to login using your LinkBlue ID. You will only need to login the first time you use EndNote Click off-campus and after updates to the extension.
Browse Journals
Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more!
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.