Search the Online Catalog
- InfoKat Discovery Advanced SearchSearch the full InfoKat Discovery combining terms in different fields (e.g., title, subject, date, language). InfoKat Discovery searches many UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
Book Titles / Journal Titles @ University of Kentucky
The Digital Closet by ISBN: 9780262369138Publication Date: 2022[directory of open access books] An exploration of how heteronormative bias is deeply embedded in the internet, hidden in algorithms, keywords, content moderation, and more.
Embracing queer family : learning to live authentically in our families and communities by ISBN: 1506490921Publication Date: 2024When Nia Chiaramonte came out as a trans woman to her wife Katie, she knew she would be met with a loving response. But she was less sure where this would leave their relationship, their marriage, and their family.
For the Love of Women: Gender, Identity and Same-Sex Relations in a Greek Provincial Town by ISBN: 9780415310314Publication Date: 2004Forty essays arranged in six parts explore the history of lesbian studies as well as its current impact on conceptions of identity and community, teaching, academic disciplines, university practices, and the development of feminist and queer theories. Request via Interlibrary Loan.- GLQ : a journal of lesbian and gay studiesPublication Date: 1993-[Online at Duke University Press] GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies.
- Journal of Gay and Lesbian Social Services byPublication Date: 1994-[Taylor & Francis Journal Complete] A peer-reviewed academic journal that covers research related to sexual minorities and their social environment,
Knowing women : same-sex intimacy, gender, and identity in postcolonial Ghana by Call Number: HQ75.6.G4 D36 2021ISBN: 9781108495905Publication Date: 2021An ethnography on friendship, same-sex desire, and intimacy among urban, working-class women in southern Ghana who engage in erotic relationships with each other.
Lesbians on Television New Queer Visibility & the Lesbian Normal by ISBN: 1789382823Publication Date: 2020[OAPEN Free] "Lesbians on Television" maps the contemporary shifts in lesbian visibility within popular media and, from this, extracts a figure of the new 'lesbian normal' that both helps and hinders those it represents.
Mouths of rain : an anthology of Black lesbian thought by ISBN: 9781620975763Publication Date: 2021A collection of Black ‘queer’ writing across genre, time, identity, age, and political leanings.
Queering Family Trees: Race, Reproductive Justice, and Lesbian Motherhood by ISBN: 9781479866595Publication Date: 2020[EBSCOhost Ebooks] Argues that significant barriers to family-making exist for lesbian mothers of color in the United States.
Sapphic Crossings: Cross-Dressing Women in Eighteenth-Century British Literature by ISBN: 081394550XPublication Date: 2021[EBSCOhost Ebooks] The fascination of women who dressed in men's clothing-from actresses on stage who showed their shapely legs to advantage in men's breeches to stories of valiant female soldiers and ruthless female pirates.- Sinister Wisdom: a Multicultural Journal by & for Lesbians byCall Number: HQ1101 .S610Publication Date: 1976 -Publishing since 1976, Sinister Wisdom works to create a multicultural, multi-class lesbian space.
Subscription Databases @ University of Kentucky
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Access World NewsFull-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Spanish-language editions of the newspapers are also included.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.
- GenderWatchRepository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Archival material dates back to 1970 in some cases.
- JSTORSearchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z.
- Oxford Music OnlineA gateway to Oxford's music reference publications, offering users the ability to search Grove Music Online together with The Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music, a total collection of more than 70,000 articles on music written and reviewed by subject experts and suitable for musical amateurs, professionals, and scholars alike. Please note: Database restricted to five simultaneous users
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionSearchable access to approximately 575 full-text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all additional journals in the collection.
- PubMed (University of Kentucky)Provides abstracts to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. Includes biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also includes links to articles available through UK Libraries' subscriptions.
- Social Science DatabaseIncludes over 500 titles, with more than 300 available in full-text. Coverage includes anthropology, sociology, social work, political science, policy studies, communication, education, criminology, demography and economics.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextInternational journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc., and contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCitations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Over 1,700 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.
Bibliographies Online
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)An international consortium - search the online catalog.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowArticles, journals, legal opinions.
See instructions for setting up Google Scholar to access additional online fulltext available to UK users.
- Selected Bibliography on Lesbian Health ResearchNational Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine
- Society for Music Theory, Committee on the Status of Women,Bibliography of Sources Related to Women's Studies,
Gender Studies, Feminism, and Music
Deneuve / Curve / Curve Digital
- Deneuve. Title changed to Curve.Lifestyle magazine founded by Frances Stevens.
1991-1995. Deneuve.
1996-2019. Curve: the lesbian magazine.
2020 Owned by The Curve Foundation.
2021 Curve relaunched digitally.
Journal of Lesbian Studies
Journal of Lesbian Studies
Binghamton, N.Y. : Haworth Press [Philadelphia] : Taylor & Francis - - Print began with vol. 1. no. 1 (1997). Published Quarterly - - Request via Interlibrary Loan
Fairly Recent Book Titles
Are you two sisters? : the journey of a lesbian couple by ISBN: 1439922144Publication Date: 2022[ProQuest Ebook Central] This book probes the nature of female intimacy in contemporary society by tracing the life of a lesbian couple over a forty year period
Burning my roti : breaking barriers as a queer Indian woman by ISBN: 9781784884390Publication Date: 2022This provocative book celebrates the strides South Asian women have made, whilst also providing powerful advice through personal stories by Sharan and other South Asian women from all over the world. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Coming Home by ISBN: 0593801342Publication Date: 2024On February 17, 2022, Brittney Griner arrived in Moscow ready to spend the WNBA offseason playing for the Russian women's basketball team where she had been the centerpiece of previous championship seasons. Instead, a security checkpoint became her gateway to hell when she was arrested for mistakenly carrying under one gram of medically prescribed hash oil. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Encyclopedia of queer studies in education by ISBN: 9004506721Publication Date: 2022This volume focuses on education and educational research and examines and expounds upon queer studies particular to education fields. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Feels right : black queer women and the politics of partying in Chicago by ISBN: 9781478023319Publication Date: 2022Kemi Adeyemi presents an ethnography of how black queer women use dance to assert their physical and affective rights to the city. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Girls can kiss now : essays by ISBN: 9781982158507Publication Date: 2022[EBSCOhost Books] Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.
Hidden histories : faith and Black lesbian leadership by ISBN: 1478023740Publication Date: 2023Explores the oral narratives of Black lesbian religious leaders in the United States with the intent to “elevate the stories of Black women who proudly claim a lesbian and religious identity.” Full text online @ JSTOR DDA.
Lesbian potentiality and feminist media in the 1970s by ISBN: 1478022647Publication Date: 2022Rox Samer explores how 1970s feminists took up the figure of the lesbian in broad attempts to reimagine gender and sexuality. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
The lives of Jessie Sampter : queer, disabled, Zionist by ISBN: 9781478015437Publication Date: 2022Jessie Sampter (1883-1938) was best known for her 95-page A Course on Zionism, an American primer for understanding support of a Jewish state in Palestine first published in 1915. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Queer conception : the complete fertility guide for queer and trans parents-to-be by ISBN: 9781632173980Publication Date: 2022Here, queer prospective parents will find sound advice for navigating complex medical, social and financial decisions. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Turning archival : the life of the historical in queer studies by ISBN: 9781478022589Publication Date: 2022Traces the rise of "the archive" as an object of historical desire and study within queer studies. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
