Lesbian Studies: Comic Books, Strips & Cartoons

Homosexuality in comic books was not explicitly forbidden by the Comics Code Authority (CCA), but the implied code regulations served as the authoritative rules for 45 years. Finally, in 1989 the code revisions allowed for non-stereotypical depictions of lesbians and gay men in comic books. The CCA became defunct in 2011.

Steve Willis Comix and Small Press Collection, 1968-2014

Archives West, Orbis Cascade Alliance

Approximately one-third of the collection is non-comix material, consisting of magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and zines. Of these, zines are the majority (about fifteen percent of the collection) and are notable for their documentation of the American music underground, counterculture, leftist and ultra-conservative politics, LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender) rights, and graphic poetry. The majority of the newspapers and newsletters are from Washington's Puget Sound area, including a large collection of Penstuff, a monthly newsletter of Pacific Northwest cartoonists.

Prior to the 1970s, lesbian cartoons drawn by women were not available in mainstream media. A body of work existed, but was exchanged informally and was often considered as underground media. It was during the mid-1970s that women began forming collectives to publish lesbian comic books, cartoons, and comic strips.

Underground Comix collection, 1947-2007 - Boxes 1-64

Iowa State University Library, Special Collections and University Archives Repository 

This collection consists of comic books authored as parodies of mainstream society and/or reflecting less acceptable behavior as would be depicted in more conventional publications. Topics include feminism, marijuana legalization, Black Power, anti-abortion and anti-war themes, and gay and lesbian issues. 

Image from Microsoft Clipart