Frequently-Used Article Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides a wide array of resources including the Social Sciences Citation Index which provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 8,600 scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines, as well as numerous other indexes. Web of Science offers Journal Citation Reports which shows you the total number of cites for a particular journal as well as the journal's impact factor. Web of Science provides cited reference searches which allow you to search for items that cite a particular article. This can be very helpful as it can lead you to more relevant works in your area of interest. Visit http://libguides.uky.edu/WOS for tips on using Web of Science.
Academic Search Complete Search Results
This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Ultimate search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.
Find Other Datababses
UK subscribes to hundreds of databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Ultimate, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest.
Research Guides provide the key databases in many disciplines plus other relevant library resources related to the subject.
Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s).
How to Read a Citation
This clickable image provides pop-ups explaining important elements of a search result within Academic Search Ultimate.
New York Times
Interested in accessing the New York Times online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below with the first link, and use the second link to access it after registering.
-
New York Times Digital Edition (New Users)You must register for an account through this link. Once you register, you have access to the New York Times website through the University of Kentucky.
-
New York Times Digital Edition (Registered Users)Once you have registered for an account through the new user link, you have an basic digital access subscription to the New York Times through the University of Kentucky. This subscription includes unlimited access on NYTimes.com, archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day); augmented reality/virtual reality (found in the App), daily 360 content, podcasts, all multimedia, newsletters, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com, and unlimited access to The New York Times in Education website and The Learning Network.
Wall Street Journal
Interested in accessing the Wall Street Journal online? UK provides access to students, faculty, and staff. Sign up below and use the link for access.
-
Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)UK Libraries and the Student Government Association (SGA) have partnered with the Wall Street Journal to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. Activate your membership through this link.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad consults the UK Libraries holdings data to know if and where an article is available. You can install LibKey Nomad to your browser and access library collections (articles, journals, etc.) within one click. It even works when off campus.
EndNote Click
EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and UK Libraries' subscriptions to find the best available paper for you. LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click complement one another. We recommend installing both to your browser.
Types of Sources
Not sure of the differences between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources? This guide provides definitions of each with examples.
Browse Journals
Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more.
Follow these step-by-step instructions to discover journals using Browzine.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.
How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.