Main Databases for LIS
|
Below are two primary databases you'll use for research in library science at UK, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. This page also includes additional databases below for you to consider, or you might look through all database subscriptions at UK, though keep in mind we have over 700! |
 |
- Library Literature and Information Science Full TextCover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, and preservation of materials. Please note: Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
- Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)Provides abstracting and indexing coverage on, for example, librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management in more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings.
Academic Search Complete Search Results
This clickable image is focused on Academic Search Complete search results and provides pop-ups explaining each important element.
Other Useful Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Dissertations and ThesesAs the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes content from the UK and Ireland. Contributions are added each year from 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, along with collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Finding a dissertation or thesis related to your topic can be a great way to find additional resources.
- Education Database (ProQuest)Indexing and abstracting access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text. Subject coverage includes: adult education, elementary education, higher education, home schooling, secondary education, special needs education, teacher education.
- ERICConsists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- ScopusScopus is an abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed literature that contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Scopus is a citation index which helps in determining the impact of articles and journals by highlighting which titles are most cited within a field. This makes it easy to move forward and backwards chronologically in the research trail because you can easily see the papers cited by an article as well as the articles that go on to cite the article later.
- StatistaStatista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides a wide array of resources including the Social Sciences Citation Index which provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 8,600 scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines, as well as numerous other indexes. Web of Science offers Journal Citation Reports which shows you the total number of cites for a particular journal as well as the journal's impact factor. Web of Science provides cited reference searches which allow you to search for items that cite a particular article. This can be very helpful as it can lead you to more relevant works in your area of interest. Visit http://libguides.uky.edu/WOS for tips on using Web of Science.
Find Other Databases
UK subscribes to hundreds of databases in a variety of disciplines. You'll likely find some relevant articles in Academic Search Complete, but it's good to know about the databases in your area of interest.
Research Guides provide the key databases in many disciplines plus other relevant library resources related to the subject.
Searching the database of databases allows you to find databases by their name or subject area(s).
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad also offers privacy safeguards, in that it:
- doesn’t require a personal account;
- doesn’t cache article requests or EZproxy credentials; and
- is only active when a user is on the website of a scholarly publisher or database (i.e., PubMed, CINAHL).
Install the Extension
- Download the extension from the Chrome Web Store.
- Type in and select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
- That's it - now explore sites, search databases, and access via journal websites.
EndNote Click
EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and UK Libraries' subscriptions to find the best available paper for you. LibKey Nomad and EndNote Click complement one another. We recommend installing both to your browser.
Create an Account
You will need to create an EndNote Click Account.
Then you will need to select the University of Kentucky as your institution.
Now you should be able to access PDFs directly from resources like Google Scholar, PubMed, CINAHL, PsycInfo, and many more resources!
On-campus access
EndNote Click automatically detects your library subscriptions when you are on campus based on your IP address. You don't need to do anything.
Off-campus access
UK Libraries supports off campus access through EZproxy. You will be asked when off campus to login using your LinkBlue ID. You will only need to login the first time you use EndNote Click off-campus and after updates to the extension.
Browse Journals
Want to browse journals much like you would view them on a bookshelf? Learn more about Browzine in order to do that and more!
How to Get Full Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
Google Scholar
It's a good idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.