Introduction to InfoKat Discovery
|
InfoKat Discovery can be a good place to start your research, as you can search for all types of information there (articles, books, and much more). If you click on Advanced Search search to the right of the search box, you can search InfoKat Discovery as the "Library Catalog." This will help you find library materials UK owns, such as books, videos, maps, music, and much more. The InfoKat Discovery Guide is helpful for learning how to use this powerful tool. This video provides a two minute overview for searching InfoKat Discovery. |
 |
E-Books
For distance learning students, it may be more convenient to browse e-books directly, even though you can request physical books be sent to you. The following e-book collections might be helpful. Visit the e-books guide for more information about e-books at UK Libraries.
- Ebook Central
This link opens in a new window
UK Libraries offers more than 16,000 e-books from multiple publishers on the ebrary platform. Books can be discovered by title, browsed by broad subject listings, or searched full-text. E-books are available in PDF or ePub format. - eBook Collection (from EBSCOhost)
- This link opens in a new window
The EBSCOhost eBook Collection provides full-text access to electronic books, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books.
Browsing the Collection
 |
One way to get started with your topic is to browse the library's collection, either physically (or virtually via InfoKat). Much (though perhaps not all) of the information on your topic will be in the Z Library of Congress call number range. Under letter Z, this guide breaks down that classification into specific call numbers for subjects such as circulation, library buildings, collections, etc. |
Distance Learning Library Services
You can check out physical books even if you don't live in the Lexington area.
Visit Distance Learning Library Resources to learn more.
Looking for Something Fun to Read?
ARL SPEC Kits
As a member of the UK community, you have full access to these surveys published by the Association of Research Libraries.
- ARL SPEC Kits
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys that gather information from Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member institutions on current research library practices and policies. Combine survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the challenges facing libraries.