Philosophy: Background Information

Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.

Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.

Very Short Introductions is a book series providing concise introductions to a variety of topics. UK Libraries subscribes to the Arts and Humanities collection of 430 VSI books.

Scholarly research reviews on archaeology, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, political science, religion and sociology.

A multi-disciplinary collection containing more than 42,000 E-books, including 2,000+ in the areas of philosophy and religion. Some reference sources are included.

Includes reference E-books important to the study of philosophy, with titles such as The Oxford Companion to Philosophy and the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages.

Offers access to several authoritative reference works in philosophy and religion. (Select titles from this resource receive separate listings below.)

Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups.

Presents informed, differing views on each side of an issue and to help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Because the Congressional Research Service does not publish its reports online, FAS obtains reports addressing national security, foreign policy and related topics, digitizes them, and archives them. It also links to other sources for CRS reports.