Welcome to the Leisure Reading Libguide! If you are looking for a good book to read, this is the place for you!
As an academic library, our collection is primarily scholarly, but there are books for all types of readers throughout the shelves! So regardless of genre or topic, there is most likely a book for you at UK Libraries, both for academic research and pure pleasure.
New fiction titles in our collection.
Click on a book to see if it is available to check out!
Introducing our new Popular Reading Collection in the Young Library atrium's Reading Nook!
The collection includes mysteries, thrillers, horror stories, science fiction, romance, and more.
We have nearly 1000 titles that you can browse near the atrium steps or search via InfoKat Discovery.
Books in the Popular Reading Collection can be checked out for 28 days.
Our Leisure Reading Guide provides book lists and recommendations for popular fiction and non-fiction.
Looking for more book recommendations? Check out NoveList, a fiction database with reviews of over 125,000 titles.
While much of UK libraries print collection is available in Young Library, it is possible that the book you are looking for is in another library, or even in storage. Regardless of the location, UK students, faculty and staff, as well as community members with a library card can check out books. It is even possible to have a book sent to a campus library closer to you to pick up, using Express Delivery Services.
As the University of Kentucky Library spends the majority of the budget on academic and course materials, the library may not have some of the leisure reads you may be interested in reading. If you are interested in a book that UK Libraries does not own, try the Lexington Public Library or your local public library. Another option is Interlibrary Loan.