Databases that support leisure reading
These library databases can be used to identify books that would be good choices for leisure reading. Access to online databases is restricted to current UK faculty, staff, and students. Log in with your linkblue credentials if you are using these resources from off-campus.
- NoveList
This link opens in a new window
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, and annotations for over 125,000 fiction titles. - 19th-Century Fiction
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature. - Early American Fiction
- This link opens in a new window
Fulltext resource available from Literature Online under "Individual Collections."
- Databases related to fictionFind other UKL databases that include full-text fiction works.
- Book Review Index Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to more than 2 million reviews from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Search fields include author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source and type, reviewer, work title, and review title.
Also check out Library Journal and Publishers Weekly, which include reviews and book lists.
UKL Kentucky Writers guide
UKL Anti-Racism Readings
Books: Fiction on the Central Kentucky LGBTQIA+ guide
Book Review Resources
